Loggers Hold on to Beat MoonDogs, 5-4.

LA CROSSE, WI – The La Crosse Loggers began their final series of the season with a win over the Mankato MoonDogs, snapping their three-game skid.  

Both teams scored one run in the first inning. The MoonDogs took an early lead courtesy of an RBI triple from Dustin Crenshaw (Grand Canyon), which scored Easton Fritcher (Minnesota). The Loggers first run came on a sacrifice fly from Reed Stallman (Des Moines Area CC), plating Jordan Donahue who reached on a lead-off single.  

After the first frame, Loggers’ starter Alijah Acevedo (Elgin CC) settled in and recorded 4.1 solid innings of work. The southpaw allowed just one run on 3 hits and 6 strikeouts. Liam Jones (Crown College) picked up where Acevedo left off in the 5th inning, recording 4.2 innings of relief. Another lefty, Jones allowed no earned runs and struck out 3 batters.  

The Loggers’ bats picked up again in the 5th inning, when they gained their first lead of the game. After Brett Stuessel (MATC) walked and advanced into scoring position, Jack Haley (Cal-State Fullerton) drove him in on a single. Haley stole second and was plated by a double from Reed Stallman.  

The Lumberman scored again in the 6th and 8th innings, coming from an RBI base-hit by Bill Ralston (St. Mary’s College) and solo home run from Blaise Priester (Meridian CC).  

The MoonDogs tried to stage a comeback in the final inning, posting a 3 spot but falling a run short. Following a couple of errors, resulting in a run scored by Mikey Gottschalk (Minnesota State-Mankato), Dustin Crenshaw blasted a 2-run homer to right field. However, Liam Jones recorded the final out to secure the victory.  

Both teams will return to Copeland Park tonight for the final game of the 2022 season. For the finale, it will be “Fan Appreciation Night” presented by Canteen. The first pitch is slated for 6:35pm CT. Fans can watch live at 


The La Crosse Loggers are a member of the finest developmental league for elite college baseball players, the Northwoods League. The Northwoods League is the proven leader in the development of elite college baseball players. Now in its’ 29th season, the Northwoods League is the largest organized baseball league in the world with 22 teams, drawing significantly more fans, in a friendly ballpark experience, than any league of its kind. A valuable training ground for coaches, umpires, and front office staff, 300 Northwoods League players have advanced to Major League Baseball, including three-time All-Star and 2016 Roberto Clemente Award winner Curtis Granderson, three-time Cy Young Award winner and World Series Champion Max Scherzer (NYM), two-time World Series Champions Ben Zobrist and Brandon Crawford (SFG) and World Series Champion Chris Sale (BOS). As well as 2019 Rookie of the Year and 2019/2021 Home Run Derby Champion Pete Alonso (NYM) and 2021 All-Star, MLB Gold Glove winner and 2019 Second Team All-MLB shortstop Marcus Semien (TEX). All league games are viewable live via the Northwoods League website.  League games are viewable live at and on ESPN+. For more information, visit or download the new Northwoods League Mobile App on the Apple App Store or on Google Play and set the Loggers as your favorite team.

La Crosse -