Latest News

Published On: November 16th, 2022

Rochester, Minn. – The Northwoods League has announced the recipients of the 2022 Rawlings ‘Finest in the Field’ Award. The annual award recognizes the top fielders at each position. The winners are selected based on final fielding statistics compiled by the Northwoods League. The 2022 Rawlings ‘Finest in the Field’ Award recipients and their fielding percentages are below.




NWL Team


Fielding Percentage


Spencer Sarringar

Bismarck Larks

Northern State



Joey Grabanski

Battle Creek Battle Jacks

Concordia University, Nebraska



Aidan Sweatt

La Crosse Loggers

North Florida



Trevor Austin

St. Cloud Rox




Noah Dehne

Minnesota Mud Puppies

North Dakota State



John Nett

St. Cloud Rox

St. Cloud State



Jan Rollon

Madison Mallards

Southern University and A&M College



Ryan Dykstra

Kalamazoo Growlers

Oakland University



Aidan Longwell

Lakeshore Chinooks

Kent State


Rawlings has been rewarding the top defenders in the Northwoods League since 2002. The recipients receive a special Rawlings engraved trophy. Rawlings is the official equipment provider for the Northwoods League.


The Northwoods League is the proven leader in the development of elite college baseball players. Having completed its’ 29th season, the Northwoods League is the largest organized baseball league in the world with 22 teams, drawing significantly more fans, in a friendly ballpark experience, than any league of its kind. A valuable training ground for coaches, umpires, and front office staff, over 310 Northwoods League players have advanced to Major League Baseball, including three-time All-Star and 2016 Roberto Clemente Award winner Curtis Granderson, three-time Cy Young Award winner and World Series Champion Max Scherzer (NYM), two-time World Series Champions Ben Zobrist and Brandon Crawford (SFG) and World Series Champion Chris Sale (BOS). As well as 2019 Rookie of the Year and 2019/2021 Home Run Derby Champion Pete Alonso (NYM) and 2021 All-Star, MLB Gold Glove winner and 2019 Second Team All-MLB shortstop Marcus Semien (TEX). All league games are viewable live via the Northwoods League website at and on ESPN+. For more information, visit or download the Northwoods League Mobile App on the Apple App Store or on Google Play.