Latest News

Published On: May 30th, 2018


(Rochester, Minn.) The Eau Claire Express pitching staff was able to shut down the Rochester Honkers offense as the Honkers were outhit 12-6 and dropped a 7-1 decision on opening night at Mayo Field.

Express starter Justin Slaten (New Mexico) settled in after allowing three hits in the first two innings and did not give up another one until the sixth inning. He threw six innings and struck out six to earn the win. Colton Hale (Illinois-Springfield) came in relief and threw three innings and struck out the first five batters he faced.

The Express opened the first frame scoring a run on a double from Devon Garcia (Ohio). Eau Claire put another run on the board in the fourth when Phillip Sikes (New Mexico) singled sharply to right. They added two more in the fifth on a Garcia single and a pass ball to bring in Nic Ready (Air Force).

The Honkers got on the board in the sixth when David Noworyta (Hawaii) grounded out to first to score Ryan Casper (Point Loma Nazarene). The Express immediately responded with two runs in the seventh when Spencer Myers (Notre Dame) came in to score on a wild pitch. Ready then singled home a run and drove home a run in the eighth with a sacrifice fly.

Drew Slade (Ripon) started on the hill for hometown Honkers and got tagged with the lose after spinning 4 2/3 innings allowing four runs, three of which were earned. Connor Barrett (Point Loma Nazarene) came in relief and tossed 2 1/3 innings allowing two runs on three hits. David Lemasters (Lake Erie) came in to pitch the eighth and the ninth allowing two runs and punching out two.

The next Rochester Honkers next home game is Wednesday where it is First Responders Night. Show your ID for free general admission. The Mayo One Medical Helicopter will be landing on the field prior to the game. Tomorrows scheduled starting pitchers are Chad Tworek (Keiser) for the Honkers and Josh Gaworski (Century) for the Express. First pitch at Mayo Field is set for 7:05 p.m.


The Northwoods League is the proven leader in the development of elite college baseball players. Entering its 25th anniversary season, the Northwoods League is the largest organized baseball league in the world with 20 teams, drawing significantly more fans, in a friendly ballpark experience, than any league of its kind. A valuable training ground for coaches, umpires and front office staff, more than 190 Northwoods League players have advanced to Major League Baseball, including three-time Cy Young Award winner Max Scherzer (WAS), two-time World Series Champions Ben Zobrist (CHC) and Brandon Crawford (SFG) and MLB All-Stars Chris Sale (BOS), Jordan Zimmermann (DET) and Curtis Granderson (TOR). All league games are viewable live via the Northwoods League website. For more information, visit or download the Northwoods League Mobile App on the Apple App Store or on Google Play.