Latest News

Published On: July 8th, 2022

The Northwoods League has announced the rosters for the 2022 Northwoods League All-Star Game, which will be played on Tuesday, July 19 at 7:00 p.m. (CST) at Witter Field in Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin.  The Honkers had two of their players selected as 2022 All Stars, Nico Regino and Thaniel Trumper.

Regino, who recently committed to Charleston Southern University is hitting .343 on the season with 34 hits and is tied for the team lead with 18 RBI.  Nico also has 14 walks, five stolen bases and has an overall on base percentage of .467, which is second to Tyler White.

Trumper, who is going into his Junior year at Daone College, has emerged as the team’s closer.  In 15 appearances, Trumper has pitched in 16.2 innings, has 2-0 record and an ERA of 2.16, which leads the Honkers active roster.  Trumper has also struck out 36 batters, while only walking five and has a batting average against of .188 which leads the team for qualified pitchers (15 or more innings).

Field Manager Kirk Shrider and his coaching staff from the Wisconsin Rapids Rafters will be in the dugout for the Great Lakes. The First-Half Great Lakes West Division Champion Rafters currently have a 31-6 overall record and had a Northwoods League record 29 wins in the First Half.

St. Cloud Field Manager Brian Lewis and his staff will manage the Great Plains All-Stars. The First-Half Great Plains West Division Champion Rox currently have a 27-8 overall record.

This year’s All-Stars were chosen in a vote by the 22 member teams of the Northwoods League. Ballots were cast by each team’s field staff and media contacts.

Full 2022 All-Star Rosters can be found here: 2022 NWL All-Star Rosters


The Northwoods League is the proven leader in the development of elite college baseball players. Now in its’ 29th season, the Northwoods League is the largest organized baseball league in the world with 22 teams, drawing significantly more fans, in a friendly ballpark experience, than any league of its kind. A valuable training ground for coaches, umpires and front office staff, over 295 Northwoods League players have advanced to Major League Baseball, including three-time All-Star and 2016 Roberto Clemente Award winner Curtis Granderson, three-time Cy Young Award winner and World Series Champion Max Scherzer (NYM), two-time World Series Champions Ben Zobrist and Brandon Crawford (SFG) and World Series Champion Chris Sale (BOS). As well as 2019 Rookie of the Year and 2019/2021 Home Run Derby Champion Pete Alonso (NYM) and 2021 All-Star, MLB Gold Glove winner and 2019 Second Team All-MLB shortstop Marcus Semien (TEX). All league games are viewable live via the Northwoods League website at and on ESPN+. For more information, visit or download the Northwoods League Mobile App on the Apple App Store or on Google Play.