Latest News

Published On: July 30th, 2022

ROCHESTER, MINN – The Rochester Honkers pitched their third shutout of the summer on Saturday night, defeating the Eau Claire Express 4-0. 

Max Meyer (Indiana State) started for Rochester and threw three scoreless innings, striking out a pair in his second start of the summer. Frank Craska (Lafayette College) followed him and got out of a third and first jam in the fourth with back-to-back strikeouts. Sam Hanson (St. John’s) pitched the next three innings and didn’t give up a hit and struck out four. Cole Mahlum (Dakota County Tech) relieved Hanson and struck out two in a scoreless eighth while Thaniel Trumper (Kansas) struck out the side in the ninth. 

The Honkers scratched together four runs at the plate and it was more than enough. Kevin Dowdell (West Virginia) drove in the first run of the game in the third on an RBI fielders choice. In the fifth Tyler White (Long Beach State) scored the second run of the game on a wild pitch. Michael Brown (Washington) crushed his fourth home run of the summer in the sixth to make it 3-0 and the Honkers added a fourth run on a Dario Gomez (Nevada) RBI single in the seventh. 

With the win the Honkers improve to 10-11 in the second half. They’ll look for the two game sweep over the Express Sunday night at Mayo Field. First pitch is set for 5:05 p.m. 


The Rochester Honkers are a member of the finest developmental league for elite college baseball players, the Northwoods League. The Northwoods League is the proven leader in the development of elite college baseball players. Now in its’ 29th season, the Northwoods League is the largest organized baseball league in the world with 22 teams, drawing significantly more fans, in a friendly ballpark experience, than any league of its kind. A valuable training ground for coaches, umpires, and front office staff, 300 Northwoods League players have advanced to Major League Baseball, including three-time All-Star and 2016 Roberto Clemente Award winner Curtis Granderson, three-time Cy Young Award winner and World Series Champion Max Scherzer (NYM), two-time World Series Champions Ben Zobrist and Brandon Crawford (SFG) and World Series Champion Chris Sale (BOS). As well as 2019 Rookie of the Year and 2019/2021 Home Run Derby Champion Pete Alonso (NYM) and 2021 All-Star, MLB Gold Glove winner and 2019 Second Team All-MLB shortstop Marcus Semien (TEX). All league games are viewable live via the Northwoods League website. League games are viewable live at and on ESPN+. For more information, visit or download the new Northwoods League Mobile App on the Apple App Store or on Google Play and set the Honkers as your favorite team.