Latest News

Published On: July 31st, 2022

ROCHESTER, MINN – The Rochester Honkers failed to sweep the Eau Claire Express and dropped game two of the series 7-5 Sunday evening at Mayo Field. 

The scoring started early, Eau Claire took a 1-0 lead in the top of the first on a Joe Yorke (Cal Poly) RBI single. However, Rochester quickly took the lead in the bottom half. Nate Chester (Mississippi State) gave the Honkers a 2-1 advantage with a two run single back up the middle. 

After both teams combined for three runs in the first the scoring stopped until the sixth. The Express took a 4-2 lead by putting up a three spot but the Honkers quickly responded. Jaxson Edwards (Lubbock Christian) drew a bases loaded walk to make it a one run game and the very next batter, Theo Hardy (San Jose State), gave the Honkers the lead again with a two run double. 

In the very next half-inning the Express responded to Rochester’s response. Peter Brookshaw (North Dakota State University) tied the game with an RBI single and Charlie Szykowny (Wisconsin, Stout) gave Eau Claire the lead with a sac-fly. The Express added another in the ninth on a Brookshaw solo home run as they earned a split of this series by a final score of 7-5. 

With the loss the Honkers fall to 25-31 and 1-1 on this seven game home-stand. The Honkers begin a two game series against the Bismarck Larks tomorrow night. First pitch is set for 6:35 p.m. from Mayo Field. 


The Rochester Honkers are a member of the finest developmental league for elite college baseball players, the Northwoods League. The Northwoods League is the proven leader in the development of elite college baseball players. Now in its’ 29th season, the Northwoods League is the largest organized baseball league in the world with 22 teams, drawing significantly more fans, in a friendly ballpark experience, than any league of its kind. A valuable training ground for coaches, umpires, and front office staff, 300 Northwoods League players have advanced to Major League Baseball, including three-time All-Star and 2016 Roberto Clemente Award winner Curtis Granderson, three-time Cy Young Award winner and World Series Champion Max Scherzer (NYM), two-time World Series Champions Ben Zobrist and Brandon Crawford (SFG) and World Series Champion Chris Sale (BOS). As well as 2019 Rookie of the Year and 2019/2021 Home Run Derby Champion Pete Alonso (NYM) and 2021 All-Star, MLB Gold Glove winner and 2019 Second Team All-MLB shortstop Marcus Semien (TEX). All league games are viewable live via the Northwoods League website. League games are viewable live at and on ESPN+. For more information, visit or download the new Northwoods League Mobile App on the Apple App Store or on Google Play and set the Honkers as your favorite team.