Latest News

Published On: July 1st, 2023

The Rochester Honkers (17-15) had their mini two game winning streak snapped at Mayo Field in a 12-3 loss vs the Mankato MoonDogs (19-14) on Saturday night.

The Honkers traiked 8-0 after three innings as their starter Cole Mahlum (0-3) (Dakota County Technical) walked 10 batters in 2.1 innings of work – he was charged with three runs. Frank Craska (Quinnipiac) and Holden Garcia (Cal Poly) combined to allow eight runs in 4.2 innings of relief as Mankato’s bats dominated all night.

Craska allowed five runs while Garcia surrendered three. The Honker’s main offensive threat came in the fifth inning where they scored two runs, but left the bases loaded. Derrick Smith (NC State) got the win for Mankato as he allowed two runs in five innings.

Brendan O’Sullivan (UNLV) hit his first home run of the season and had two RBIs while Paul Schoenfeld (Colorado Mesa) reached base four times – he has now hit safely in 15 consecutive starts.

The Honkers are back in action on Sun., July 2, on the road in Eau Claire. The two-game series is the last of the first half and could decide who wins the Great Plains East. Scheduled first pitch time is 2:05 p.m.

The Rochester Honkers began their 30th season of play on May 29th. Keep up with the team on social media by following them on Twitter (@RochHonkers) and Instagram (@honkersbaseball) and like the Honkers on Facebook at Rochester Honkers Baseball Club. Interact on social by using the hashtag #FunForTheWholeFlock!

The Northwoods League is the proven leader in the development of elite college baseball players. Now in its’ 30th season, the Northwoods League is the largest organized baseball league in the world with 24 teams, drawing significantly more fans, in a friendly ballpark experience, than any league of its kind. A valuable training ground for coaches, umpires, and front office staff, over 310 Northwoods League players have advanced to Major League Baseball, including three-time All-Star and 2016 Roberto Clemente Award winner Curtis Granderson, three-time Cy Young Award winner and World Series Champion Max Scherzer (NYM), two-time World Series Champions Ben Zobrist and Brandon Crawford (SFG) and World Series Champion Chris Sale (BOS). As well as 2019 Rookie of the Year and 2019/2021 Home Run Derby Champion Pete Alonso (NYM) and 2021 All-Star, MLB Gold Glove winner and 2019 Second Team All-MLB shortstop Marcus Semien (TEX). All league games are viewable live via the Northwoods League website at and on ESPN+. For more information, visit or download the Northwoods League Mobile App on the Apple App Store or on Google Play.