Latest News

Published On: July 19th, 2023

The Rochester Honkers (26-24, 8-8) dropped game two of the series on the road vs the Willmar Stingers (35-13, 9-5) on a Wednesday night at Bill Taunton Stadium. The Honkers could only manage three hits as Willmar took the lead with a three-run eighth inning and secured a series split.

Willmar scored first with an unearned run in the bottom of the 1st inning. That was the only run they scored off of Cole Seward (Colorado Mesa), who got through six innings for his third consecutive start as a Honker. Through three games, he has allowed just one earned run.

Kimo Fukofuka (San Jose State) tied the game with a sacrifice fly in the top of the sixth inning, scoring Ben North (Creighton) after his double. The game would stay deadlocked until the eighth inning. With two outs and two on, Sean Rimmer (Hawaii) served a go-ahead two-run single into center field to push the home team in front. Corbin Barker (UC Riverside) (1-3) allowed the base hit.

Tom Sun (Augustana) (1-0) pitched a sparkling four innings of relief for the Stingers, not allowing a run.

Rochester starts a three game home stand tomorrow vs the Thunder Bay Border Cats. Scheduled first pitch time is 6:35 p.m.

The Rochester Honkers began their 30th season of play on May 29th. Keep up with the team on social media by following them on Twitter (@RochHonkers) and Instagram (@honkersbaseball) and like the Honkers on Facebook at Rochester Honkers Baseball Club. Interact on social by using the hashtag #FunForTheWholeFlock!

The Northwoods League is the proven leader in the development of elite college baseball players. Now in its’ 30th season, the Northwoods League is the largest organized baseball league in the world with 24 teams, drawing significantly more fans, in a friendly ballpark experience, than any league of its kind. A valuable training ground for coaches, umpires, and front office staff, over 310 Northwoods League players have advanced to Major League Baseball, including three-time All-Star and 2016 Roberto Clemente Award winner Curtis Granderson, three-time Cy Young Award winner and World Series Champion Max Scherzer (NYM), two-time World Series Champions Ben Zobrist and Brandon Crawford (SFG) and World Series Champion Chris Sale (BOS). As well as 2019 Rookie of the Year and 2019/2021 Home Run Derby Champion Pete Alonso (NYM) and 2021 All-Star, MLB Gold Glove winner and 2019 Second Team All-MLB shortstop Marcus Semien (TEX). All league games are viewable live via the Northwoods League website at and on ESPN+. For more information, visit or download the Northwoods League Mobile App on the Apple App Store or on Google Play.