Latest News

Published On: August 8th, 2023

The Rochester Honkers (31-33, 13-17) fell behind early in this contest as the Waterloo Bucks (34-30, 20-10) jumped out to an early 6-0 lead. The Honkers were able to come back and defeat the Bucks 9-8 to win the season series.

The Honkers were held both hitless and scoreless through the first five frames. Then in the sixth, Rochester exploded for five runs, capped off by a three-run home run from Mattie Thomas (University of San Francisco) that cleared the wall in right-center field by a wide margin.

Rochester would then score three in the seventh to take the lead, but Waterloo finally answered with two of their own to tie the game. Both teams had their bullpen work through a scoreless eighth, and the game headed into the final inning.

Brendan O’Sullivan (UNLV) walked to lead off the inning and went to second on a wild pitch. Carson Stevens (Cal Poly) singled him in to give the Honkers a 9-8 lead.

Corbin Barker (UC Riverside) got the opportunity to close the door on the Bucks in the ninth, and he took full advantage and retired the side in order. The Honkers play again on Wednesday against the Mankato MoonDogs. First pitch is at 6:35 pm.

The Rochester Honkers began their 30th season of play on May 29th. Keep up with the team on social media by following them on Twitter (@RochHonkers) and Instagram (@honkersbaseball) and like the Honkers on Facebook at Rochester Honkers Baseball Club. Interact on social by using the hashtag #FunForTheWholeFlock!

The Northwoods League is the proven leader in the development of elite college baseball players. Now in its’ 30th season, the Northwoods League is the largest organized baseball league in the world with 24 teams, drawing significantly more fans, in a friendly ballpark experience, than any league of its kind. A valuable training ground for coaches, umpires, and front office staff, over 310 Northwoods League players have advanced to Major League Baseball, including three-time All-Star and 2016 Roberto Clemente Award winner Curtis Granderson, three-time Cy Young Award winner and World Series Champion Max Scherzer (NYM), two-time World Series Champions Ben Zobrist and Brandon Crawford (SFG) and World Series Champion Chris Sale (BOS). As well as 2019 Rookie of the Year and 2019/2021 Home Run Derby Champion Pete Alonso (NYM) and 2021 All-Star, MLB Gold Glove winner and 2019 Second Team All-MLB shortstop Marcus Semien (TEX). All league games are viewable live via the Northwoods League website at and on ESPN+. For more information, visit or download the Northwoods League Mobile App on the Apple App Store or on Google Play.