Latest News

Published On: April 16th, 2014

The fans have spoken and have voted Jim Magrane as the RHP Starter for Waterloo's 20th Season Fan Favorite Team.  Magrane won voting totals, tallied from Facebook, Twitter, and e-mails. Totals are listed below: Jim was The Northwoods League MVP in 1999.  Completing 9 games, Magrane went 20-6, had an earned run average of 2.64 and 245 strikeouts.  Jim was inducted into the Bucks Baseball Hall of Fame in 2009.magrane-jim

  • Jim Magrane– 13%
  • Brian Curtin– 12%
  • Derek Lamacchia– 12%
  • Danny Muegge–12%
  • Chris Pack– 12%
  • David Parra–12%
  • Aaron Rhodes– 12%
  • Bill Tarajack– 12%

This week's vote:  First Baseman

Choose from the following selections to pick your favorite Bucks First Baseman over the past 20 years:

  • Zach Daeges (2005/Creighton) – 2005 NWL Postseason All-Star; .366, 13 HR, 48 RBI, 4 SB; NWL Triple Crown Winner (2005)
  • Phillip Hawke (2004/Louisiana-Lafayette) – 2004 NWL MVP; .301, 11 HR, ,41 RBI, 3 SB; Baseball Hall of Fame Inductee (2011)
  • David Kerian (2013/Illinois) – .297, 6 HR, 39 RBI, 18 SB
  • Andy Schutzenhofer (2001/Illinois) – 2001 NWL Postseason All-Star; .288, 12 D, 31 RBI, 3 SB

Let your voice be heard and vote on the Bucks’ Facebook or Twitter page, or e-mail the Bucks at  Voting ends 11:59 pm CT on Tuesday, April 22nd.

Each Wednesday, between now and Waterloo’s Home Opener on May 28, the Bucks are allowing fans to vote for their favorite players or managers in the efforts to create the “Bucks 20th Season Fan Favorite Team.”  Using their Facebook, Twitter, and website platforms, the Bucks will announce a list of nominees at a certain position.  Fans will have until 11:59 pm CT each Tuesday to vote for their choice.  After voting is complete, the Bucks will announce the fan favorite at that position.

The 20-person Fan Favorite team will consist of the following:

  • Field Manager:  Travis Kiewiet (2012-current)
  • Catcher:  Austin Barrett (2012/Mercer)
  • First Baseman
  • Second Baseman
  • Third Baseman: Chad Frk (2000-‘03/Illinois)
  • Shortstop
  • Outfielder: Shayne Carnes (1995-97/UAB)
  • Outfielder: Matt Cepicky (1997/Southwest Missouri St.)
  • Outfielder: Adam Boeve (2002-‘03/N.Iowa)
  • Right-handed Starting Pitcher: Nic Ungs (2000-‘01/N.Iowa)
  • Right-handed Starting Pitcher: Jim Magrane (1997-‘99/Iowa)
  • Right-handed Starting Pitcher
  • Left-handed Starting Pitcher: Aaron Jenkins (2004 & ‘06/N.Iowa)
  • Left-handed Starting Pitcher
  • Left-handed Starting Pitcher
  • Closer: Steve Hecker (1999-2000/Illinois St.)
  • Closer
  • Extra Infielder
  • Extra Outfielder
  • Extra Player