Hawke Named 20th Season Fan Favorite Team Extra Infielder; This Week’s Vote: Extra Outfielder

The results are in and the fans have voted Phillip Hawke as an extra infielder for Waterloo's 20th Season Fan Favorite Team. Hawke won voting totals, tallied from Facebook, Twitter, and e-mails. Totals are listed below. Hawke played with Waterloo in 2004, and was named NWL MVP in the same year. During his MVP season, Hawke led the league in home runs (11) and RBIs (41). The Texas Rangers drafted Hawke in 2005, and he was invited to Florida Marlins camp in 2008. 

Extra Infielder Votes:

  • Ryan Gripp: 16%News-Slideshow-20th-LOGO-WAT---3-26-14
  • Phillip Hawke: 19%
  • Chris Lotterhos: 16%
  • Cameron Perkins: 16% 
  • Seth Vonbehren: 16%
  • Chesny Young: 16%

Let your voice be heard and vote on the Bucks’ Facebook or Twitter page, or e-mail the Bucks at  Voting ends 11:59 pm CT on Tuesday, May 27.

This week's vote: Extra outfielder

Choose from the following selections to pick your favorite Bucks Extra Outfielder over the past 20 years

  • Drew Davidson (2002/Illinois) – 2002 NWL Midseason All-Star; .285, 3 HR, 41 RBI, 16 SB
  • Davis Hendrickson (2011-’12/Illinois) – .293, 51 RBI, 82 R, 33 SB
  • Robert Matlock (2006/Freed-Hardeman) – 2006 NWL Midseason All-Star; .277, 18 RBI, 18 SB
  • Creston Whitaker (1999/Illinois) – 1999 NWL Midseason All-Star; .353, 16 RBI, 34 SB
  • Kevin Kaczmarski (2012/Evansville) – 2012 NWL Midseason All-Star; .361, 10 HR, 55 RBI, 14 SB

Each Wednesday, between now and Waterloo’s Home Opener on May 28, the Bucks are allowing fans to vote for their favorite players or managers in the efforts to create the “Bucks 20th Season Fan Favorite Team.”  Using their Facebook, Twitter, and website platforms, the Bucks will announce a list of nominees at a certain position.  Fans will have until 11:59 pm CT each Tuesday to vote for their choice.  After voting is complete, the Bucks will announce the fan favorite at that position.

The 20-person Fan Favorite team will consist of the following:

  • Field Manager: Travis Kiewiet (2012-current)
  • Catcher:  Austin Barrett (2012/Mercer
  • Second Baseman: Dan DeMent (1998-’99/UAB)
  • First Baseman:  David Kerian (2013/Illinois)
  • Third Baseman: Chad Frk (2000-‘03/Illinois)
  • Shortstop:  Jason Huisman (1996/Mississippi)
  • Outfielder: Shayne Carnes (1995-97/UAB)
  • Outfielder: Matt Cepicky (1997/Southwest Missouri St.)
  • Outfielder: Adam Boeve (2002-‘03/N. Iowa)
  • Right-handed Starting Pitcher: Nic Ungs (2000-‘01/N.Iowa)
  • Right-handed Starting Pitcher: Jared Wagoner (2009-’10/Butler)
  • Right-handed Starting Pitcher:  Jim Magrane (1997-’99/Iowa)
  • Left-handed Starting Pitcher: Aaron Jenkins (2004 & ‘06/N.Iowa)
  • Left-handed Starting Pitcher:  Tim Lavery (1998-‘99/Illinois)
  • Left-handed Starting Pitcher:  Dan Jennings (2006-‘07/Nebraska)
  • Closer: Steve Hecker (1999-2000/Illinois St.)
  • Closer: Chad Epperson (2004 & ’06/Iowa Western CC & N. Iowa)
  • Extra Infielder: Phillip Hawke (2004/Louisiana-Lafayette) 
  • Extra Outfielder: 
  • Extra Player: