MacKenzie Named Rawlings Big Stick Award Winner

Waterloo, IA – Waterloo Bucks second baseman Pat MacKenzie has been named the winner of a 2014 Rawlings “Big Stick” Award by the Northwoods League.  The award is given to the NWL player at each position who had the best batting average during the ‘14 regular season.

MacKenzie, currently a senior at Central Michigan University, led the North Division in hitting with a .374 average.  In addition, the infielder led the NWL in on-base percentage at .504, second in stolen bases with 26, third in walks with 50, and tied for second in runs with 57.  On August 3rd, he stole the 61st base of his career, becoming the team’s all-time stolen base record holder.  MacKenzie was named a mid-season NWL All-Star and was invited to participate in the NWL Big League Dreams Showcase.  On September 26, the Royal Oak, Michigan native was named a winner of a 2014 Rawlings “Finest in the Field” Award, an annual award that recognizes the top fielders at each position.

Rawlings has been rewarding the top hitters in the Northwoods League since 2007 in addition to honoring the best fielders since 2002.  To honor their achievement the eight award winners will receive an engraved bat from Rawlings.  The complete list of 2014 Rawlings “Big Stick” Award Winners is below.




NWL Team


Batting Average


Daniel Salters

Eau Claire

Dallas Baptist



Pete Alonso





Pat MacKenzie


C. Michigan



Keelin Rasch

Wisconsin Rapids




Zack Domingues

Wisconsin Rapids

Long Beach St.



Tyler Sullivan





Jordan Lee


Texas-Corpus Christi



Pat Porter


Ohio St.



To be eligible a player would’ve needed to have enough plate appearances to qualify for a batting title. A player must have a minimum of 2.7 plate appearances per team game.   Those players that saw time at more than one position qualify at the position they played most often.   

The Bucks 2014 season is complete, with the team finishing the year with the third-best record in the Northwoods League.  The Bucks will be back in action in late-spring of 2015.  The 2015 NWL schedule is expected to be released this fall.  Fans are encouraged to stay in touch with the Bucks in the off-season by utilizing their website at


# # #


The Waterloo Bucks are a member of the finest developmental league for elite college baseball players, the Northwoods League. Playing its 21st season of summer collegiate baseball, the Northwoods League is the largest organized baseball league in the world with 18 teams, drawing significantly more fans, in a friendly ballpark experience, than any league of its kind. A valuable training ground for coaches, umpires and front office staff, more than 115 Northwoods League players have advanced to Major League Baseball, including Cy Young Award winner Max Scherzer (DET) and MLB All-Stars Chris Sale (CWS), Jordan Zimmermann (WAS), Curtis Granderson (NYM), Allen Craig (STL) and Ben Zobrist (TB). All league games are viewable live via the Northwoods League YouTube channel.  For more information, visit