Wyckoff & Huffman to be inducted into Bucks Baseball Hall of Fame on July 11

Waterloo, Iowa – The Waterloo Bucks have announced that the Tenth Annual Bucks Baseball Hall of Fame Luncheon will be held Saturday, July 11 at 11:00 am at Beck’s Sports Brewery in Waterloo.  Former infielder Gabe Wyckoff and longtime public address announcer Elwin Huffman will be the inductees this year.  The public is invited to attend with tickets available for $21 which includes a meal.  All proceeds go to the Bucks Summer Reading Program.

Beck’s Sports Brewery, located at 3295 University Avenue in Waterloo, will be the locale of the banquet that will honor these Buck greats.  Doors to the private banquet room will open at 11:00 am and lunch will be served at 11:30 featuring a burger buffet and complimentary non-alcoholic beverages.

There will be a silent auction that will feature sports memorabilia, including autographed baseballs by former Major Leaguers Jose Canseco and Lee Smith, along with items from various Cedar Valley businesses.  The Hall of Fame inductions will be will begin at 12:00 pm.

Interested parties may call (319) 232-5633 for ticket information, or mail their checks payable to Waterloo Bucks to:  Bucks Baseball Hall of Fame Luncheon, PO Box 4124, Waterloo, IA 50704.  All tickets must be purchased by Friday, July 3.

A native of Vinton, Iowa, Gabe Wyckoff wyckoff-gabewas a member of the Bucks in the team’s inaugural year in 1995.  The University of Iowa and University of Northern Iowa standout holds the 10th best career batting average in team history with a .342 mark.  With Waterloo, Wyckoff played in 53 games, driving in 30 runs and stealing 17 bases as an infielder.  Wyckoff finished second on the team in hitting and totaled 66 hits and a .394 slugging percentage. 

Longtime public address Announcer Elwin Huffman has been the full-time announcer for the Bucks for 20 of the team’s 21 seasons.  A graduate of Waterloo East High School, who attended Kirkwood Community College and the University of Northern Iowa, Huffman has been a mainstay in the Riverfront Stadium Press Box since the 1996 season and has announced over 550 Bucks games.  Huffman is employed as a reporter for Waterloo Broadcasting.

Both inductees are scheduled to appear at the induction ceremonies.

With the support of Upper Iowa University Waterloo Center and Perkins, the Waterloo Bucks Summer Reading Program will be encouraging reading throughout the summer in the Cedar Valley.  Throughout April and May, the Bucks’ mascot Bucky visited elementary schools throughout the Cedar Valley as part of the reading program.  The students are rewarded with prizes for reaching reading levels ranging from 250 minutes to 1,000 minutes.  Prizes this year include a game ticket, a free play pass in the Waterloo Bucks Kid Zone presented by KT's Indoor Inflatable Park, a free kids meal from Perkins (with purchase of an adult entree), a Waterloo Bucks lanyard, and a Waterloo Bucks drawstring bag. Elementary aged kids throughout the Cedar Valley are invited to take part in the Waterloo Bhuffman-elwinucks Summer Reading Program.   

The Bucks will host the Eau Claire Express later that evening at 7:05 pm.

The Bucks play at Riverfront Stadium where team ownership has invested more than $70,000 in improvements since the end of the 2014 season including painted bleachers, public Wi-Fi, sound system, group outing areas, and concessions equipment.  Fans are encouraged to stay in touch with the Bucks by utilizing their website at


# # #


The Waterloo Bucks are a member of the finest developmental league for elite college baseball players, the Northwoods League. Playing its 22nd season of summer collegiate baseball in 2015, the Northwoods League is the largest organized baseball league in the world with 18 teams, drawing significantly more fans, in a friendly ballpark experience, than any league of its kind. A valuable training ground for coaches, umpires and front office staff, more than 120 Northwoods League players have advanced to Major League Baseball, including Cy Young Award winner Max Scherzer (WAS) and MLB All-Stars Chris Sale (CWS), Jordan Zimmermann (WAS), Curtis Granderson (NYM), Lucas Duda (NYM) and Ben Zobrist (OAK). All league games are viewable live via the Northwoods League Website.  For more information, visit