Latest News

Published On: July 13th, 2015

Waterloo, Iowa – The Northwoods League has aOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAnnounced that three Waterloo Bucks have been named to the 2015 All-Star Game. Those players are Brian Drapeau, Zach McKinstry, and Luke Stratman.  They will participate in the 2015 NWL All-Star Game that will be played on Tuesday, July 21 at 7:05 pm at Witter Field in Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin.

Right-handed pitcher Brian Drapeau (pronounced DRAY-po), a junior from Long Island University-Brooklyn and originally from Livingston, New Jersey, is 5-2 with a 2.19 ERA.  Drapeau leads the league in strikeouts with 51, games started at 10, and innings pitched at 57.2.

Shortstop Zach McKinstry, a freshman from Central Michigan University and originally from Ft. Wayne, Indiana, is hitting .297 in 39 games for Waterloo.  In 138 at bats, McKinstry has five doubles, three triples, and three home runs to go along with 19 RBI.

Lamar Community College third baseman Luke Stratman OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAowns a .292 average to go along with a team leading 20 RBI.  A native of Morrison, Colorado, Stratman has seven doubles, three home runs, and 10 stolen bases on the season.

Both the North Division and South Division NWL All-Star teams were announced earlier today by the league.

The Bucks begin a two-game series versus the Alexandria Blue Anchors tonight at 7:05 pm.  Tonight’s game can be heard online at with play-by-play announcer Matt Gruemmer.  Tickets are currently available.  Fans are encouraged to call the Bucks’ Ticket Line at (319) 232-5633 or order online at

The Bucks play at Riverfront Stadium where team ownership has invested more than $70,000 in improvements since the end of the 2014 season including painted bleachers, public Wi-Fi, sound system, group outing areas, and concessions equipment.  Fans are encouraged to stay in touch with the Bucks by utilizing their website at www.waterlOLYMPUS DIGITAL


# # #


The Waterloo Bucks are a member of the finest developmental league for elite college baseball players, the Northwoods League. Playing its 22nd season of summer collegiate baseball in 2015, the Northwoods League is the largest organized baseball league in the world with 18 teams, drawing significantly more fans, in a friendly ballpark experience, than any league of its kind. A valuable training ground for coaches, umpires and front office staff, more than 120 Northwoods League players have advanced to Major League Baseball, including Cy Young Award winner Max Scherzer (WAS) and MLB All-Stars Chris Sale (CWS), Jordan Zimmermann (WAS), Curtis Granderson (NYM), Lucas Duda (NYM) and Ben Zobrist (OAK). All league games are viewable live via the Northwoods League Website.  For more information, visit