Four Bucks Named to NWL All-Star Team

Waterloo, IA – The Northwoods League announced the 2020 Postseason All-Star Team today which included four Waterloo Bucks players.  Oraj Anu, Jalen Smith, Xane Washington, and Peyton Williams were among 39 players named to the Postseason All-Star Team for their efforts during the run to Waterloo’s 2020 Minnesota-Iowa Region Championship.

Oraj Anu, a junior from the University of Kentucky, was named to the team as an outfielder.  Anu hit .330 with three home runs, 17 RBI, and three stolen bases in 27 games for the Bucks.  Originally from Orlando, Florida, Anu is a two-time draft pick by the Boston Red Sox, being selected in the 28th round by the organization in 2017, then drafted again in the 16th round in 2019.

Second baseman Jalen Smith, a sophomore from the University of California, Davis and originally from Bakersfield, California, led the entire NWL in hits with 53.  Smith’s name is littered across the Minnesota-Iowa Region statistical leaderboard, leading the pod in runs with 44, second in both batting average and on-base percentage with .390 and .494 marks respectively, tied for second in doubles with nine, and third in slugging percentage at .544.  The infielder hit four home runs and drove in 27, while stealing 11 bases in 38 games for Waterloo.

Xane Washington, a redshirt sophomore from Nicholls State University and originally from Houma, Louisiana, was named to the team as a designated hitter.  Washington tied for the Minnesota-Iowa Region lead in triples with two.  In 27 games for the Bucks, Washington hit .324 with 19 RBI and 11 stolen bases.

First baseman Peyton Williams, a freshman from the University of Iowa and Johnston, Iowa, led the NWL in home runs with 13 and slugging percentage at a .687 mark.  Williams’ home run total tied a Bucks single-season record of 13, while his .687 slugging percentage set a new team record.  Williams hit .304 on the season to go along with the second-most RBI in the pod with 36.  Prior to Waterloo’s last game on August 20, Williams was named the Bucks’ Player of the Year as voted on by season ticket holders.

The entire Northwoods League Postseason All-Star Team may be found here:

The Bucks play their home games at Cost Cutters Field at Riverfront Stadium which welcomed a new state of the art video board in 2016 thanks to a matching grant from the Black Hawk County Gaming Association.  Team ownership has invested nearly $400,000 in stadium improvements since the end of the 2014 season including group outing areas, painted bleachers, public Wi-Fi, sound system, kids zone inflatables, wiffle ball field, and concessions equipment.  Fans are encouraged to stay in touch with the Bucks by utilizing their website at or utilizing the Northwoods League Mobile App.


# # #


The Waterloo Bucks are a member of the finest developmental league for elite college baseball players, the Northwoods League. The Northwoods League is the proven leader in the development of elite college baseball players. Having completed its’ 27th season, the Northwoods League is the largest organized baseball league in the world with 22 teams, drawing significantly more fans, in a friendly ballpark experience, than any league of its kind. A valuable training ground for coaches, umpires and front office staff, over 230 Northwoods League players have advanced to Major League Baseball, including three-time All-Star and 2016 Roberto Clemente Award winner Curtis Granderson, three-time Cy Young Award winner and World Series Champion Max Scherzer (WAS), two-time World Series Champions Ben Zobrist (CHC) and Brandon Crawford (SFG) and World Series Champion Chris Sale (BOS). As well as 2019 Rookie of the Year and Home Run Derby Champion Pete Alonso (NYM) and MLB All-Star Jordan Zimmermann (DET). All league games are viewable live via the Northwoods League website. All league games are viewable live via the Northwoods League portal. For more information, visit or download the new Northwoods League Mobile App on the Apple App Store or on Google Play and set the Bucks as your favorite team.