Latest News

Published On: August 15th, 2021

The Waterloo Bucks (42-25, 19-14) dropped their regular season finale by an 8-4 final to the La Crosse Loggers (28-40, 14-18) on Saturday evening in front of 1358 fans. Liam Critchett (2-for-5, 2 R) and newly-minted 2021 Waterloo Bucks Player of the Year Max Jung-Goldberg (2-for-4, 2B, RBI, SF) each compiled multi-hit games on the night.

Down 4-0 in the third, Critchett singled to lead off the frame then two batters later Jackson Lyon (1-for-5, R, 2B) smashed a double off the right field wall to put two in scoring position. Emi Gonzalez (1-for-2, 2 RBI) promptly plated them both with a two-run single ripped back up the middle.

The Bucks would trim their deficit to one in the fifth as Critchett singled, moved to third on a Jung-Goldberg double and scored courtesy of a sac fly off the bat of Tavan Shahidi (0-for-0, HBP, RBI, SF). La Crosse responded with three in the sixth and one in the seventh.

Chris Seng (1-for-4, BB, R, SB) began the home half of seven with a single, stole second and later scored on a Jung-Goldberg sacrifice fly.

Waterloo’s postseason run begins on Sunday with a 4:05 p.m. first pitch of Game One of the Great Plains-East Subdivisional Series against the Duluth Huskies at Riverfront Stadium. The Bucks will be the visiting team on the scoreboard.