Latest News

Published On: November 6th, 2023

Waterloo, Iowa – The Northwoods League has announced Waterloo Bucks first baseman Marcus Heusohn and third baseman Brandon Fish are 2023 Rawlings “Finest in the Field” Award winners.  The annual award recognizes the top fielders at each position.

Marcus Heusohn, who is now junior at the University of Illinois-Chicago, finished the season with a .981 fielding percentage.  The Waterloo, Illinois native appeared in 59 games for Waterloo, committing only eight errors in 420 total chances.

Fish, a native of Londonberry, New Hampshire, ended the season with just five errors in 184 total chances.  Now a junior at UMass-Lowell, Fish finished the year with a .973 fielding percentage.

The 2023 Rawlings ‘Finest in the Field’ Award recipients and their fielding percentages are below.


Position Player NWL Team College Fielding Percentage
C Levi Jensen Wisconsin Rapids Rafters University of North Alabama .997
1B Marcus Heusohn Waterloo Bucks Lindenwood University .981
2B Reagan Burford Kenosha Kingfish University of Mississippi 1.000
3B Brandon Fish Waterloo Bucks University of Massachusetts-Lowell .971
SS Brendan O’Sullivan Rochester Honkers UNLV .962
OF Kyle Ratliff Battle Creek Battle Jacks Southern Illinois University Edwardsville 1.000
OF Isaiah Jackson Madison Mallards Arizona State University .993
OF Karson Hesser Kokomo Jackrabbits Northern State University .992
P Anthony Aloisio Battle Creek Battle Jacks Davenport University 1.000

Rawlings has been rewarding the top defenders in the Northwoods League since 2002.  The recipients receive a special Rawlings engraved trophy.  The winners are selected based on final fielding statistics compiled by the Northwoods League.  Rawlings is the official equipment provider for the Northwoods League.

The Bucks recently wrapped up their 2023 campaign with a 37-31 record, the second best overall record in the Great Plains East.  Bucks team ownership has invested nearly $450,000 in stadium improvements since the end of the 2014 season including group outing areas, painted bleachers, public Wi-Fi, sound system, kids zone inflatables, wiffle ball field, and concessions equipment.  Fans are encouraged to stay in touch with the Bucks by utilizing their website at or utilizing the Northwoods League Mobile App.


# # #


The Waterloo Bucks are a member of the finest developmental league for elite college baseball players, the Northwoods League. The Northwoods League is the proven leader in the development of elite college baseball players. Now in its’ 30th season, the Northwoods League is the largest organized baseball league in the world with 24 teams, drawing significantly more fans, in a friendly ballpark experience, than any league of its kind. A valuable training ground for coaches, umpires, and front office staff, over 325 Northwoods League players have advanced to Major League Baseball, including three-time All-Star and 2016 Roberto Clemente Award winner Curtis Granderson, three-time Cy Young Award winner and World Series Champion Max Scherzer (NYM), two-time World Series Champions Ben Zobrist and Brandon Crawford (SFG) and World Series Champion Chris Sale (BOS). As well as 2019 Rookie of the Year and 2019/2021 Home Run Derby Champion Pete Alonso (NYM) and 2021 All-Star, MLB Gold Glove winner and 2019 Second Team All-MLB shortstop Marcus Semien (TEX). All league games are viewable live via the Northwoods League website. League games are viewable live at and on ESPN+. For more information, visit or download the new Northwoods League Mobile App on the Apple App Store or on Google Play and set the Bucks as your favorite team.