Latest News

Published On: November 13th, 2023

Waterloo, Iowa – On Monday, the Northwoods League announced the 2023 Rawlings “Big Stick” Award winners which included Waterloo Bucks shortstop Elliot Good.  The annual award is given to the player at each position who had the best batting average during the regular season.

Now a senior at Central Connecticut State University, Good hit .337 for Waterloo on the season.  Originally from Meriden, Connecticut, the infielder finished with the seventh best average in the NWL to go along with three home runs, 42 RBI, and nine stolen bases.

Rawlings has been rewarding the top hitters in the Northwoods League since 2007 in addition to honoring the best fielders since 2002. To honor their achievement, the nine award winners from across the NWL will receive an engraved bat from Rawlings.  To be eligible for the award, a player would have needed to have enough plate appearances to qualify for a batting title (a minimum of 2.7 plate appearances per team game).

The complete list of 2023 Rawlings “Big Stick” Award Winners is below.

 Position Player NWL Team College Batting Average
C Drey Dirksen Willmar Stingers Augustana University .329
1B Kai Roberts Mankato MoonDogs University of Utah .346
2B Michael Hallquist Duluth Huskies University of Minnesota-Crookston .355
3B Dylan O’Connell Eau Claire Express Western Kentucky University .343
SS Elliot Good Waterloo Bucks Central Connecticut State University .337
OF Joshua Duarte Duluth Huskies Georgetown College .398
OF Tyler Ganus Kokomo Jackrabbits University of Oregon .345
OF Dalton Pearson Wausau Woodchucks Georgia State University .339


The Bucks recently wrapped up their 2023 campaign with a 37-31 record, the second best overall record in the Great Plains East.  Bucks team ownership has invested nearly $450,000 in stadium improvements since the end of the 2014 season including group outing areas, painted bleachers, public Wi-Fi, sound system, kids zone inflatables, wiffle ball field, and concessions equipment.  Fans are encouraged to stay in touch with the Bucks by utilizing their website at or utilizing the Northwoods League Mobile App.


# # #


The Waterloo Bucks are a member of the finest developmental league for elite college baseball players, the Northwoods League. The Northwoods League is the proven leader in the development of elite college baseball players. Now in its’ 30th season, the Northwoods League is the largest organized baseball league in the world with 24 teams, drawing significantly more fans, in a friendly ballpark experience, than any league of its kind. A valuable training ground for coaches, umpires, and front office staff, over 325 Northwoods League players have advanced to Major League Baseball, including three-time All-Star and 2016 Roberto Clemente Award winner Curtis Granderson, three-time Cy Young Award winner and World Series Champion Max Scherzer (NYM), two-time World Series Champions Ben Zobrist and Brandon Crawford (SFG) and World Series Champion Chris Sale (BOS). As well as 2019 Rookie of the Year and 2019/2021 Home Run Derby Champion Pete Alonso (NYM) and 2021 All-Star, MLB Gold Glove winner and 2019 Second Team All-MLB shortstop Marcus Semien (TEX). All league games are viewable live via the Northwoods League website. League games are viewable live at and on ESPN+. For more information, visit or download the new Northwoods League Mobile App on the Apple App Store or on Google Play and set the Bucks as your favorite team.