Latest News

Published On: May 12th, 2023

Kalamazoo, MI – There is a lot of green grass at Homer Stryker Field. The Growlers have announced the players who will be roaming all that open space in 2023. A few key pieces from the 2022 championship team are returning to Kalamazoo.


Ryan Dykstra: Oakland University
Dykstra was a staple for the Growlers last summer. The now Oakland Grizzly was with the team for all 72 regular season games as well as the team’s four playoff games. Originally slated to be with the team for just the first few weeks last summer, Dykstra earned himself a full-time contract with after impressing the coaching staff. Dykstra led the entire Northwoods League in walks, even finishing third all-time for walks in a single season in Northwoods League history. He also received a “Finest in the Field” honor form the Northwoods League and Rawlings.

Myles Beale: Northwood University
Beale was a late addition to the Growlers roster last season. He provided a strong bat to the lineup down the stretch. Growlers fans may remember Beale for his walk-off grand slam on August 8th which started the Growlers 5-game win streak to close the regular season, and propelled them into an undefeated playoff run and eventual championship win.

Banks Tolley: Ole Miss
Tolley won a College Baseball World Series in 2022 before coming to Kalamazoo and winning another championship. Tolley started in every playoff game for the Growlers and was a fixture in the lineup. He is expected to join the Growlers for the second half of the 2023 season.

New Additions:

Tyler Albright: Freshman, Duke University
Anthony Migliaccio: RS Freshman, Pepperdine University
John Kramer: Sophomore, Ole Miss
Tyler Nelson: Junior, Purdue-Fort Wayne
Alex Fernandes: Freshman, Edmonds CC



The Kalamazoo Growlers are a member of the finest developmental league for elite college baseball players, the Northwoods League. The Northwoods League is the proven leader in the development of elite college baseball players. Now in its’ 29th season, the Northwoods League is the largest organized baseball league in the world with 22 teams, drawing significantly more fans, in a friendly ballpark experience, than any league of its kind. A valuable training ground for coaches, umpires, and front office staff, 300 Northwoods League players have advanced to Major League Baseball, including three-time All-Star and 2016 Roberto Clemente Award winner Curtis Granderson, three-time Cy Young Award winner and World Series Champion Max Scherzer (NYM), two-time World Series Champions Ben Zobrist and Brandon Crawford (SFG) and World Series Champion Chris Sale (BOS). As well as 2019 Rookie of the Year and 2019/2021 Home Run Derby Champion Pete Alonso (NYM) and 2021 All-Star, MLB Gold Glove winner and 2019 Second Team All-MLB shortstop Marcus Semien (TEX). All league games are viewable live via the Northwoods League website. League games are viewable live at and on ESPN+. For more information, visit or download the new Northwoods League Mobile App on the Apple App Store or on Google Play and set the Growlers as your favorite team.