Waterloo, IA- Kevin Kaczmarski, an outfielder for the Waterloo Bucks, has been selected to participate in this year’s Northwoods League Home Run Derby. Kaczmarski is a Cary, IL native and is currently attending Evansville University. 

Kaczmarski has been showing his power all season for the Bucks. He currently is tied for the team lead with six home runs and has also hit nine doubles. Combined with his three triples, Kaczmarski currently leads the Bucks with a slugging percentage of .594, which is also fourth in the entire Northwoods League. The Evansville product has also shown the ability to hit for average, batting .355 on the season. Kaczmarski has also shown excellent defense at all three outfield positions. 

The other participants in this year’s derby include: From the North Division, Rochester’s Trevor Podratz (Hawaii), Mankato’s John Michael Twichell (Texas), Waterloo’s Kevin Kaczmarski (Evansville), and Duluth’s Michael Suchy (Florida Gulf Coast).  Representing the South Division will be Madison’s Tyler Marincov (North Florida), Wisconsin Rapids’ Alex Bacon (North Florida), Eau Claire’s Casey Gillaspie (Wichita State), and La Crosse’s Richard Prigatano (Long Beach State). 

The 2012 NWL Home Run Derby presented by the Dane County Regional Airport will consist of eight contestants facing off over three rounds.  Round one will consist of each player getting an eight out at-bat with the top four advancing to the second round.  In round two, each player will get an eight out at-bat.  Home runs from the first round carry over to the second round, the players with the most home runs after two rounds will advance to the finals.  In the final round, each player will get an eight out at-bat, and the winner will be the player who hits the most home runs in the final round.  An out is defined as any time a player swings at a pitch and does not hit a home run. 

The home run derby is set for 6:00 pm on Tuesday, July 20, before the all-star game that is set for 7:30 pm. Both events are being held Warner Park, home to the Madison Mallards. Kaczmarski will also be in the all-star game along with Bucks Sean Borman, Austin Barrett, and Jordan Foley. Remember to check out for all your latest Bucks information.