Epperson Named 20th Season Fan Favorite Team Closer; This Week’s Vote: Short Stop

The fans have spoken and have voted Chad Epperson as the Closer for the Waterloo's 20th Season Fan Favorite Team. Epperson won voting totals, tallied from Facebook, Twitter, and e-mails. Totals are listed below:  Chad went 4-3, had 35 strikeouts and an earned run average of 1.87.  In his career, he had 15 saves and was the Northwoods League Post-Season All-Star in 2004.  Epperson was inducted into the Bucks Baseball Hall of Fame in 2012. epperson-chad

  • Chad Epperson–16 %
  • Adam Dian-14%
  • Bob Lackovic– 13%
  • Joe Balbas–11%
  • Tom Boleska– 11%
  • Kyle Kramp–11%
  • J.D. Moore– 11%
  • Zach Schreiber– 11%

This week's vote:  Shortstop

Choose from the following selections to pick your favorite Bucks Shortstop over the past 20 years:

  • Josh Arteaga (2000-01/Virginia Commonwealth) – 2001 NWL Postseason All-Star; .290, 4 HR, 42 RBI, 19 SB
  • Chris Curry (1997/SW Missouri St.) – 1997 NWL Postseason All-Star; .339, 5 HR, 31 RBI, 8 SB
  • Michael Giller (2007-09/Illinois) – 2009 NWL Postseason All-Star; .286, 6 HR, 76 RBI, 43 SB
  • Kyle Haines (2002-03/Olney Central CC) – 2002 NWL Postseason All-Star; .291, 1 HR, 39 RBI, 21 SB
  • Jason Huisman (1996/Mississippi) – 1996 NWL MVP; .342, 6 HR, 36 RBI, .493 SLG, Bucks Baseball Hall of Fame Inductee (2010)
  • John Shelby (2004/Kentucky) – 2004 NWL Postseason All-Star; .274, 6 HR, 30 RBI, 15 SB



Let your voice be heard and vote on the Bucks’ Facebook or Twitter page, or e-mail the Bucks at  Voting ends 11:59 pm CT on Tuesday, January 28.

Each Wednesday, between now and Waterloo’s Home Opener on May 28, the Bucks are allowing fans to vote for their favorite players or managers in the efforts to create the “Bucks 20th Season Fan Favorite Team.”  Using their Facebook, Twitter, and website platforms, the Bucks will announce a list of nominees at a certain position.  Fans will have until 11:59 pm CT each Tuesday to vote for their choice.  After voting is complete, the Bucks will announce the fan favorite at that position.

The 20-person Fan Favorite team will consist of the following:

  • Field Manager:  Travis Kiewiet (2012-current)
  • Catcher:  Austin Barrett (2012/Mercer)
  • First Baseman
  • Second Baseman
  • Third Baseman: Chad Frk (2000-‘03/Illinois)
  • Shortstop
  • Outfielder: Shayne Carnes (1995-97/UAB)
  • Outfielder: Matt Cepicky (1997/Southwest Missouri St.)
  • Outfielder: Adam Boeve (2002-‘03/N.Iowa)
  • Right-handed Starting Pitcher: Nic Ungs (2000-‘01/N.Iowa)
  • Right-handed Starting Pitcher: Jim Magrane (1997-‘99/Iowa)
  • Right-handed Starting Pitcher
  • Left-handed Starting Pitcher: Aaron Jenkins (2004 & ‘06/N.Iowa)
  • Left-handed Starting Pitcher
  • Left-handed Starting Pitcher
  • Closer: Steve Hecker (1999-2000/Illinois St.)
  • Closer: Chad Epperson (2004-‘06/Iowa Western CC & N. Iowa)
  • Extra Infielder
  • Extra Outfielder
  • Extra Player