Latest News

Published On: May 12th, 2014

Waterloo, Iowa – The Waterloo Bucks continue to unveil their promotional schedule for the 2014 season with today’s announcement of Mini-Bat Night powered by Hawkeye Community College.  The first 1,000 fans to enter renovated Riverfront Stadium on Saturday, June 14 will receive a Bucks mini-bat.  Later that night, Hawkeye Community College will be sponsoring a post-game Fireworks Extravaganza.

In addition to the first 1,000 fans receiving mini-bats, the next 500 fans to enter the ballpark that evening will receive a Bucks koozie powered by Birdnow Chevrolet.  The Bucks will also be hosting Happy Hour prior to the game, featuring $2 beer from 5:30 pm to 6:30 pm.

On June 14, the Bucks host the Duluth Huskies with gates opening at 5:30 pm and first pitch slated for 7:05 pm.  The game is the first of a four-game homestand for the Bucks and their first matchup of the season versus Duluth, the team that eliminated Waterloo from the 2013 Playoffs.  The Bucks will announce more pieces of their 2014 promotional schedule in the coming days.

The Bucks will open the 2014 season on the road versus the Rochester Honkers on May 27, but return to Waterloo for their home opener versus Rochester on May 28.  Season tickets and group outings are currently on sale.  For more information, call the Bucks’ Ticket Line at (319) 232-5633.  All 72 games may be heard on 1330 AM ESPN (KWLO).  Fans are encouraged to stay in touch with the Bucks in the off-season by utilizing their website at

# # #

The Waterloo Bucks are a member of the finest developmental league for elite college baseball players, the Northwoods League. Playing its 21stseason of summer collegiate baseball, the Northwoods League is the largest organized baseball league in the world with 18 teams, drawing significantly more fans, in a friendly ballpark experience, than any league of its kind. A valuable training ground for coaches, umpires and front office staff, more than 115 Northwoods League players have advanced to Major League Baseball, including Cy Young Award winner Max Scherzer (DET) and MLB All-Stars Chris Sale (CWS), Jordan Zimmermann (WAS), Curtis Granderson (NYM), Allen Craig (STL) and Ben Zobrist (TB). All league games are viewable live via the Northwoods League YouTube channel.  For more information, visit