Latest News

Published On: July 21st, 2018

Box Score (G1)                   Box Score (G2)

Game 1: The Express offense shined in the 9-3 game one win, backed by a solid pitching performance by Justin Slaten and Phillip Sikes. The bats got started in the top of the 2nd inning, scoring two runs. Andrew Pratt (Lubbock Christian) went yard to put the Express up 1-0. David LaManna (Notre Dame) and Adam LaRock (MATC) both walked and were driven in by a two RBI single by Spencer Myers (Notre Dame). Two more runs came in the top of the 3rd. Scott Ogrin (Cal Poly) showed his power, crushing a solo shot to put the Express up 5-0. Andrew Pratt and David LaManna followed with walks and Pratt scored on an Adam LaRock RBI single.

Eau Claire added two more in the 5th. Scott Ogrin walked, and Andrew Pratt blasted his second home run of the day to give the Express a 7-3 lead. In the top of the 6th, Scott Ogrin slashed an RBI triple that scored Cody Milligan (Oklahoma State). One more came in during the top of the 7th. Adam LaRock walked and advanced to second on a Spencer Myers single. Cody Milligan walked to load the bases and Alec Trela (Memphis) was hit by a pitch to score LaRock.

Game one starter, all-star Justin Slaten (New Mexico), was not as dominant as we have become accustomed to. He went 3.2 innings and gave up three runs on four hits and five walks. He recorded only two strikeouts on the day. His Lobo teammate, Phillip Sikes (New Mexico) entered in relief. Sikes earned the win, throwing 3.1 scoreless innings, allowing only one hit and one walk while striking out six.

Game 2: The scores flipped for game two, with Eau Claire falling to St. Cloud by a final of 9-3. The Express scored first in the top of the 1st inning. Noah Sifrit (Oklahoma State) walked and moved to third on a throwing error on a pickoff attempt. He would score on an RBI single hit by Alec Trela. In the second inning, Devon Garcia (Ohio) singled, advanced to second on a stolen base, and came in on an error by St. Cloud’s catcher. One more scored for Eau Claire in the 5th inning. Noah Sifrit singled and advanced to 2nd on a wild pitch. Cody Milligan drove him in on an RBI single.

Josh Gaworski (Concordia-St Paul) started game two for the Express. He tossed 2 innings and gave up four runs, three earned, on three hits and three walks. Gaworski received the loss. Jimmy Fouse (Dallas Baptist) struggled in his 1.2 innings. The junior gave up five runs, three earned, off two hits and four walks. Tyler Strzelczyk finished the game, not allowing a run in 2.1 innings and giving up only 1 hit and 1 walk.

Eau Claire will travel to Mankato for games on July 21st and 22nd  before the Northwoods League All-Star Break. The 2018 All-Star game will be played on Tuesday, July 24th and will feature four Express players. Justin Slaten, Phillip Sikes, Spencer Myers, and Scott Ogrin will represent Eau Claire. Ogrin will also participate in this year’s Home Run Derby. The Express return home on Thursday, July 26th for a 6:35 pm first pitch. It’s Big Brothers Big Sisters night presented by EO Johnson Business Technologies with Express t-shirts given away to fans!

Season tickets and 5-Game Packs are on sale now. 5-Game Packs include a reserved seat, Express jersey, Express hat, Express mug, and unlimited food and beverage for $70. Click here to purchase your 5-Game Pack online and we will contact you about your seats. You can also call us at (715)839-7788.  Jersey sizes will be available on a first come, first serve basis.


The Eau Claire Express are a member of the finest developmental league for elite college baseball players, the Northwoods League. Now in its 25th anniversary season, the Northwoods League is the largest organized baseball league in the world with 20 teams, drawing significantly more fans, in a friendly ballpark experience, than any league of its kind. A valuable training ground for coaches, umpires and front office staff, more than 190 former Northwoods League players have advanced to Major League Baseball, including three-time Cy Young Award winner Max Scherzer (WAS), two-time World Series Champions Ben Zobrist (CHC) and Brandon Crawford (SFG) and MLB All-Stars Chris Sale (BOS), Jordan Zimmermann (DET) and Curtis Granderson (TOR).  All league games are viewable live via the Northwoods League portal. For more information, visit or download the new Northwoods League Mobile App on the Apple App Store or on Google Play and set the Express as your favorite team.