Latest News

Published On: August 10th, 2018

Box Score            Virtual Guide

Eau Claire, WI – For the second night in a row, the Eau Claire Express (14-19) went into extra innings. this time against the Mankato MoonDogs (22-11). The Express faithful, 1,800 strong, roared all night long but did not see a win as the Express fell 6-5 in 10 innings.

The Express got their first run on the board in the 2nd inning. Connor Laspina (Flagler College) lead off with a double and Mitchell Buban (UW Milwaukee) hit an RBI single to drive him in. One more scored in the next inning. It started with Spencer Myers (Notre Dame) single. Adam LaRock (MATC) advanced Myers to second base on a single and Andrew Pratt (Lubbock Christian) drove him in with an RBI single.

The big inning for the Express was the 5th, scoring three runs after five straight singles. First was Adam LaRock followed by Andrew Pratt, Nick Brueser (Stanford), Ryan Bishop (Dallas Baptist), and Connor Laspina. The RBI’s came from Bishop and Laspina.

In the bottom of the 9th with the game tied 5-5, Eau Claire had Chase Scharnek (MATC) on second base. Andrew Pratt hit a single to the outfield that the entire park thought would be the walk off. However, a close play at the plate would not favor the Express and Scharnek was called out.

Andrew Dean (Illinois-Springfield) got the start for the Express and tossed 5 innings, giving up five runs on six hits and five walks. Isaiah Davis (Fresno State) had a beautiful relief outing, throwing 4.2 innings with only one earned run. He would receive the loss. Manny Castellano (Cumberlands) entered for the final 0.1 inning.

The Express continue the final homestand tomorrow against the MoonDogs at 7:05 pm. We have an action packed night planned for you! Rally towels will be given away to fans courtesy of Chippewa River Industries. Postgame fireworks show courtesy of Marshfield Clinic.  This game is also Cancer Awareness/Survivors night.  The Express will wear special jerseys to recognize cancer survivors and to generate awareness about cancer.


The Eau Claire Express are a member of the finest developmental league for elite college baseball players, the Northwoods League. Now in its 25th anniversary season, the Northwoods League is the largest organized baseball league in the world with 20 teams, drawing significantly more fans, in a friendly ballpark experience, than any league of its kind. A valuable training ground for coaches, umpires and front office staff, more than 190 former Northwoods League players have advanced to Major League Baseball, including three-time Cy Young Award winner Max Scherzer (WAS), two-time World Series Champions Ben Zobrist (CHC) and Brandon Crawford (SFG) and MLB All-Stars Chris Sale (BOS), Jordan Zimmermann (DET) and Curtis Granderson (TOR).  All league games are viewable live via the Northwoods League portal. For more information, visit or download the new Northwoods League Mobile App on the Apple App Store or on Google Play and set the Express as your favorite team.