Latest News

Published On: August 12th, 2018

Box Score            Virtual Guide

Eau Claire, WI – The Eau Claire Express (15-20) rolled past the St. Cloud Rox (20-15) on Saturday evening. After taking an early lead, the Express never looked back as they won 8-2.

Jumping on the board right away, the Express scored three runs in the bottom of the 1st inning. Spencer Myers (Notre Dame) and Adam LaRock (MATC) walked. Andrew Pratt (Lubbock Christian) reached on an error by the Rox second baseman. Myers score and LaRock moved to third on the play. Nick Brueser (Stanford) had a big two RBI double to plate LaRock and Pratt.

Another two runs scored in the 2nd inning. Mitchell Buban (UW Milwaukee) lead off with a single and was followed by a Spencer Myers single. Adam LaRock walked to load the bases. A sac fly by Ryan Bishop (Dallas Baptist) and Nick Brueser gave the Express a 5-0 lead.

The 3rd inning saw another two runs. Connor Laspina (Flagler College) walked, stole second, and scored on an RBI double by Scott Finberg (Century College). Finberg advanced to third on a Mitchell Buban single and scored on an Adam LaRock sac fly.

The Express tacked on one more in the 7th inning for safe measures. Mitchell Buban started with getting hit by a pitch. Spencer Myers advanced him to third on a double and Buban scored when Ryan Bishop hit a sacrifice fly to center field.

Rece Dietrich (Minnesota-Duluth) had a beautiful start for the Express. The sophomore tossed seven innings, giving up only two runs on seven hits. He struck out five. Zach Grech (Stanford) entered for two innings out of the bullpen. He allowed one hit and recorded one strikeout.

The Eau Claire Express finish the 2018 season tomorrow, Sunday, August 12th, at 2:05 PM. Join us for a great afternoon at Carson Park! Stay after the game for a poster giveaway and autographs with the team.


The Eau Claire Express are a member of the finest developmental league for elite college baseball players, the Northwoods League. Now in its 25th anniversary season, the Northwoods League is the largest organized baseball league in the world with 20 teams, drawing significantly more fans, in a friendly ballpark experience, than any league of its kind. A valuable training ground for coaches, umpires and front office staff, more than 190 former Northwoods League players have advanced to Major League Baseball, including three-time Cy Young Award winner Max Scherzer (WAS), two-time World Series Champions Ben Zobrist (CHC) and Brandon Crawford (SFG) and MLB All-Stars Chris Sale (BOS), Jordan Zimmermann (DET) and Curtis Granderson (TOR).  All league games are viewable live via the Northwoods League portal. For more information, visit or download the new Northwoods League Mobile App on the Apple App Store or on Google Play and set the Express as your favorite team