Latest News

Published On: June 24th, 2020


Eau Claire, WIS. – On Thursday, May 7, 2020, the 2020 Northwoods League baseball season, slated to begin on Tuesday, May 26, had been postponed indefinitely by the Northwoods League.

As a result of the Stay at Home Orders ending or being lifted, each Northwoods League affiliate was allowed the opportunity to work with their respective municipalities to implement a plan on returning to play.

On Wednesday, May 27, the Bismarck Larks announced that their pod would begin play on Monday, June 15. Shortly after, it was announced that several other pods, including one that would consist of five teams located in Wisconsin, would begin their 2020 season on Wednesday, July 1. The Eau Claire Express were not one of the teams included in this pod.

As of Tuesday, June 23, the guidelines put into effect by the Eau Claire City-County Health Department limit planned social gatherings to 100 people at an outdoor venue. The order also prohibits gameplay to take place between two different teams.

As a result of these guidelines, as well as the safety of our fans, players and staff in mind, the Eau Claire Express are unable to commit to playing organized games starting on Wednesday, July 15, at Carson Park, concluding in the decision to cancel the 2020 season.

We would like to sincerely thank our fans, sponsors and the entire Chippewa Valley for their continued support during this difficult time. We look forward to being back in 2021.


The Eau Claire Express are a member of the finest developmental league for elite college baseball players, the Northwoods League. The Northwoods League is the proven leader in the development of elite college baseball players. Having completed its’ 26th season, the Northwoods League is the largest organized baseball league in the world with 22 teams, drawing significantly more fans, in a friendly ballpark experience, than any league of its kind. A valuable training ground for coaches, umpires and front office staff, over 230 Northwoods League players have advanced to Major League Baseball, including three-time All-Star and 2016 Roberto Clemente Award winner Curtis Granderson, three-time Cy Young Award winner and World Series Champion Max Scherzer (WAS), two-time World Series Champions Ben Zobrist (CHC) and Brandon Crawford (SFG) and World Series Champion Chris Sale (BOS). As well as 2019 Rookie of the Year and Home Run Derby Champion Pete Alonso (NYM) and MLB All-Star Jordan Zimmermann (DET). All league games are viewable live via the Northwoods League website. All league games are viewable live via the Northwoods League portal. For more information, visit or download the new Northwoods League Mobile App on the Apple App Store or on Google Play and set the Express as your favorite team.