Latest News

Published On: June 10th, 2023

Bismarck N.D. –  In a game that lasted just under 5 hours due to weather delays, the Eau Claire Express pulled out a no-doubter win over the Bismarck Larks with a final score of 9-3.

Ryan Nagelbach (UIC) kicked things off for the Trains with a towering home run over the rightfield wall in the top of the 1st inning. His homer was the first of three that the team would hit on Friday night. The other players who went yard were Reed Latimer (Montevallo) and Rayth Petersen (UIC), who each had solid nights at the plate.

Defensively for the Express, things couldn’t have gone much better to start the game. Starter Cal Higgins (WKU) recorded the first six outs of the game across two innings by way of strikeout. Higgins’ night only lasted 3 innings, but he pitched a gem, recording 7 strikeouts before a lengthy weather delay cut his night short.

Once play resumed, the Express were eager to get back on the scoreboard, as they loaded up the bases with walks. Bismarck pitchers then struggled to pitch out of this jam, as they walked two batters in, and Nate Wiite (UWEC) came home on a Wild Pitch by the Larks’ Ricky Harrison.

As the game progressed, Petersen hit his solo shot of the night, followed by a well-hit Dallan Quigley (NDSU) double, which scored 3 Express runners.

The final run of the game for the Express would be scored off the bat of Latimer in the top of the 6th inning with his homer. 9 runs proved to be enough though, as good defensive efforts throughout the end of the game were enough to thwart any potential comeback by the Larks.

The Express stay out west as they will face the Minot Hot Tots for their next 4 games. Tune in to catch the team in action on the Northwoods League website!



The Northwoods League is the proven leader in the development of elite college baseball players. Entering its’ 30th season, the Northwoods League is the largest organized baseball league in the world with 24 teams, drawing significantly more fans, in a friendly ballpark experience, than any league of its kind. A valuable training ground for coaches, umpires, and front office staff, 325 Northwoods League players have advanced to Major League Baseball, including three-time All-Star and 2016 Roberto Clemente Award winner Curtis Granderson, three-time Cy Young Award winner and World Series Champion Max Scherzer (NYM), two-time World Series Champions Ben Zobrist and Brandon Crawford (SFG) and World Series Champion Chris Sale (BOS). As well as 2019 Rookie of the Year and 2019/2021 Home Run Derby Champion Pete Alonso (NYM) and 2021 All-Star, MLB Gold Glove winner and 2019 Second Team All-MLB shortstop Marcus Semien (TEX). League games are viewable live for FREE via the Northwoods League website at as well as select games on ESPN+ and ESPNU. For more information, visit or download the Northwoods League Mobile App on the Apple App Store or on Google Play.