Latest News

Published On: June 12th, 2023

Minot N.D. – The Hot Tots came back in the second of a four-game series, this time beating the Express by 5 with a final score of 5-0.

Minot’s starter, Gage Yost was effective through 6 innings but proved that you can have a successful outing without racking up strikeouts. Express batters were only fanned a total of 4 times on the night, as they were able to continually put the ball in play. However, when the ball was in play, so was the defense for the Hot Tots.

Eau Claire was able to record 6 hits as a team over the course of the game, led by Reed Latimer (Montevallo), who went 2 for 4. Other than he and a few other hits throughout the lineup, the Express weren’t able to get much offensive action going.

Defensively both teams looked sharp, as neither Eau Claire nor Minot tallied a single error through 9 innings. As for the Eau Claire pitching staff, the combination of Issac Lyon (GCU) and Michael Trausch (Central Arizona) was a mostly solid group on the mound. Lyon recorded 4 strikeouts through 5 innings, but Minot had his number in the 4th and 5th innings, scoring two runs in each.

Trausch tallied 6 strikeouts of his own in just 3 innings on the night, and his lone earned run came in the bottom of the 8th on a Christian Peréz double. Other than this shot, Trausch showed poise and solid command on the mound as he only gave up 2 hits.

The Express will get another chance against the Hot Tots tomorrow in Minot. First Pitch will be at 6:35 p.m. CST.



The Northwoods League is the proven leader in the development of elite college baseball players. Entering its’ 30th season, the Northwoods League is the largest organized baseball league in the world with 24 teams, drawing significantly more fans, in a friendly ballpark experience, than any league of its kind. A valuable training ground for coaches, umpires, and front office staff, 325 Northwoods League players have advanced to Major League Baseball, including three-time All-Star and 2016 Roberto Clemente Award winner Curtis Granderson, three-time Cy Young Award winner and World Series Champion Max Scherzer (NYM), two-time World Series Champions Ben Zobrist and Brandon Crawford (SFG) and World Series Champion Chris Sale (BOS). As well as 2019 Rookie of the Year and 2019/2021 Home Run Derby Champion Pete Alonso (NYM) and 2021 All-Star, MLB Gold Glove winner and 2019 Second Team All-MLB shortstop Marcus Semien (TEX). League games are viewable live for FREE via the Northwoods League website at as well as select games on ESPN+ and ESPNU. For more information, visit or download the Northwoods League Mobile App on the Apple App Store or on Google Play.