Latest News

Published On: July 9th, 2023

Waterloo IA – The Express stopped off in Iowa to begin their series vs. the Waterloo Bucks, but had a tough beat to start the trip, losing 6-9.

The Express started Trey Felker (Montevallo) on the mound. Although tallying 3 strikeouts, he struggled to record outs, as he gave up 6 runs through 4 innings. The Bucks’ bats were hot though as they scored at least 1 run in 5 consecutive innings. Their biggest inning came in the bottom of the 5th when they put up an impressive 5 runs on 5 hits.

Eau Claire made a late push, scoring 3 runs in the top of the 7th inning to put them back in contention. The 8th inning also started off promising, when Temo Becerra (Stanford) smacked a leadoff Home Run to kick things off. Unfortunately for the Men in Orange, they could not capitalize on this momentum and failed to score more than 1 run the rest of the game.

This loss halts the Trains’ winning streak which started off at 4 in a row in the second half. They will look to get back into the W column in their next Sunday afternoon contest vs. the Bucks. First pitch will come at 2:35 pm CT, and the game will again be played in Waterloo. Tune into the action on 106.7 FM-Moose Country, or watch the game live on the Northwoods League Website.



The Eau Claire Express are a member of the finest developmental league for elite college baseball players, the Northwoods League. The Northwoods League is the proven leader in the development of elite college baseball players. Now in its’ 30th season, the Northwoods League is the largest organized baseball league in the world with 24 teams, drawing significantly more fans, in a friendly ballpark experience, than any league of its kind. A valuable training ground for coaches, umpires, and front office staff, over 325 Northwoods League players have advanced to Major League Baseball, including three-time All-Star and 2016 Roberto Clemente Award winner Curtis Granderson, three-time Cy Young Award winner and World Series Champion Max Scherzer (NYM), two-time World Series Champions Ben Zobrist and Brandon Crawford (SFG) and World Series Champion Chris Sale (BOS). As well as 2019 Rookie of the Year and 2019/2021 Home Run Derby Champion Pete Alonso (NYM) and 2021 All-Star, MLB Gold Glove winner and 2019 Second Team All-MLB shortstop Marcus Semien (TEX). All league games are viewable live via the Northwoods League website. League games are viewable live at and on ESPN+. For more information, visit or download the new Northwoods League Mobile App on the Apple App Store or on Google Play and set the Express as your favorite team.