Latest News

Published On: June 11th, 2024

Eau Claire, WI – On a beautiful night in the Chippewa Valley the Express dropped their final game of the homestand to the Waterloo Bucks, by a score of 10-6.

This game was dictated by the big fly, as the two teams combined for four home runs. Brennan Hudson (Georgia State) got it started in the top of the fourth with a solo shot to left center field, which was then countered by a three-run blast from Ragan Pinnow (Augustana). Just two batters later Brigs Richartz (St. Thomas) hit a 401 foot rocket over the short porch. Waterloo would hit another solo blast in the top of the sixth by Marcus Heusohn (Illinois- Chicago), who would follow that at bat with another three-run big fly as part of a five-spot eighth inning which sealed the Bucks’ win.

Both managers deployed a plethora of pitchers, combining for 10 total arms touching the mound. It would be Chaney Trout (Eastern Illinois) who grabbed the win, throwing for two innings, allowing one hit and two strikeouts. Cole Selvig (Texas) took the loss for Eau Claire (0-1).

The Trains hit the road tomorrow, heading to Wassau to begin a home and away series. First pitch is set for 6:35pm CT at Athletic Park.

The Eau Claire Express are a member of the finest developmental league for elite college baseball players, the Northwoods League. The Northwoods League is the proven leader in the development of elite college baseball players. Entering its’ 31st season, the Northwoods League is the largest organized baseball league in the world with 26 teams, drawing significantly more fans, in a friendly ballpark experience, than any league of its kind. A valuable training ground for coaches, umpires, and front office staff, over 350 Northwoods League players have advanced to Major League Baseball, including three-time All-Star and 2016 Roberto Clemente Award winner Curtis Granderson, three-time Cy Young Award winner and World Series Champion Max Scherzer (TEX), two-time World Series Champions Ben Zobrist and Brandon Crawford (STL) and World Series Champion Chris Sale (ATL). As well as 2019 Rookie of the Year and 2019/2021 Home Run Derby Champion Pete Alonso (NYM) and 2023 World Series Champion, 2021 and 2023 All-Star, MLB Gold Glove winner and two-time All-MLB first team shortstop Marcus Semien (TEX). All league games are viewable live via the Northwoods League website. League games are viewable live at and on ESPN+. For more information, visit or download the new Northwoods League Mobile App on the Apple App Store or on Google Play and set the Express as your favorite team.