Latest News

Published On: June 1st, 2018



(Waterloo, Iowa) – The Rochester Honkers (1-2) lost in heartbreaking fashion as the Waterloo Bucks (1-2) defeated the Honkers 5-4 on Thursday at Riverfront Stadium. The Honkers lost on a walk-off sacrifice fly that came in the ninth after Trey Leonard (Louisville) walked, advanced to second and third on wild pitches and was driven in by Andy Bennett (Butler) who came in as a pinch hitter.

Cole Quintanilla (Texas) made his first start on the mound for the Honkers. He tossed 2 2/3 innings allowing three runs on two hits. None of the runs were earned. Darin Kilfoyl (St. Johns River State) pitched 2 2/3 shutout innings in relief and struck out five. Derek Scott (Abilene Christian) came in from center field to pitch with two outs in the eighth and was tagged with the loss.

The Honkers outhit the Bucks 10-5 as Casey Dunlap (Point Loma Nazarene), Scott and Ryan Casper (Point Loma Nazarene) each had two hits for Rochester.

Waterloo got on the board in the third scoring three runs off of a bases clearing double by Kaden Polcovic (Northwest Florida State) to center field. The Honkers got two back in the fourth as Benjamin Sems (Kansas) came around to score on an error and a Reed Hjelle (Minnesota-Crookston) RBI single.

The Honkers tied the game at three in the fifth as Derek Scott (Abilene Christian) scored on an error. The Bucks immediately regained the lead when Trey Leonard (Louisville) drove an RBI single to center.

Rochester came back to tie the game once again in the seventh when Dunlap singled to start the inning and came around to score on a wild pitch.

The Honkers are back at Mayo Field Friday as they look for revenge against the Bucks. The probable pitchers are Chandler Cannon (Walters State) for the Honkers and Brady Moxham (South Dakota State) for the Bucks. Additionally, Friday is the first Fireworks Extravaganza presented by Lawrence Transportation. First pitch is scheduled for 7:05 p.m.


The Northwoods League is the proven leader in the development of elite college baseball players. Now in its 25th anniversary season, the Northwoods League is the largest organized baseball league in the world with 20 teams, drawing significantly more fans, in a friendly ballpark experience, than any league of its kind. A valuable training ground for coaches, umpires and front office staff, more than 190 Northwoods League players have advanced to Major League Baseball, including three-time Cy Young Award winner Max Scherzer (WAS), two-time World Series Champions Ben Zobrist (CHC) and Brandon Crawford (SFG) and MLB All-Stars Chris Sale (BOS), Jordan Zimmermann (DET) and Curtis Granderson (TOR). All league games are viewable live via the Northwoods League website. For more information, or download the Northwoods League Mobile App on the Apple App Store or on Google Play.