Latest News

Published On: June 7th, 2018


(Rochester, Minn.) – The Rochester Honkers winning streak has come to a halt after five games. The Honkers were defeated by the Mankato MoonDogs 14-1 at Franklin Rogers Park. Tonight the Flock mustered just five hits compared to Mankato’s 15.

Cole Quintanilla (Texas) started on the mound for Rochester and gave up three runs, two of which were unearned.

Alex Baeza (Hawaii) had the only multi-hit game for Honkers with two singles.

Mankato jumped on Rochester early with three runs in the first, both Blaze Glenn (Youngstown State) and Evan Klugerman (Bucknell) walked to bring home a run a piece. Zac Wiley (Bellarmine) then singled to bring home another.

Mankato added two more to their total in the second as Wiley singled to bring home his second RBI of the game and Glenn scored on a fielder’s choice. In the third, Cole Pengilly (Gustavus) grounded out to second to bring home a run.

The MoonDogs offense exploded in the sixth for six runs, Wiley and Nick Novak (Angelo State) each singled home a run. Josh Elvir (Houston) scored on an error and Wiley drove a double to give him his third RBI of the game. Kyle MacDonald (Arkansas State) capped off the inning with a two RBI triple.

The Honkers fought back for one run in the eighth off of a single by Reed Hjelle (Minnesota-Crookston) to give him his fourth RBI of the year.

The MoonDogs continued to add to their tally in the eighth as Pengilly and Novak each drove home a run with a triple and a single respectively.

The Honkers look to bounce back against the MoonDogs Thursday at Mayo Field for a 7:05 p.m. first pitch. Chandler Cannon (Walters State) is scheduled to start for the Honkers against Mankato’s Brett Newberg (Austin Peay). The Honkers will be back at Mayo Field Friday for a 7:05 p.m. match-up with the St. Cloud Rox. Friday is Seat Cushion Night presented by Roto-Rooter. The first 500 fans will receive a seat cushion.



The Rochester Honkers are a member of the finest developmental league for elite college baseball players, the Northwoods League. Now in its 25th anniversary season, the Northwoods League is the largest organized baseball league in the world with 20 teams, drawing significantly more fans, in a friendly ballpark experience, than any league of its kind. A valuable training ground for coaches, umpires and front office staff, more than 190 former Northwoods League players have advanced to Major League Baseball,including three-time Cy Young Award winner Max Scherzer (WAS), two-time World Series Champions Ben Zobrist (CHC) and Brandon Crawford (SFG) and MLB All-Stars Chris Sale (BOS), Jordan Zimmermann (DET) and Curtis Granderson (TOR).  All league games are viewable live via the Northwoods League portal. For more information, visit or download the new Northwoods League Mobile App on the Apple App Store or on Google Play and set the Honkers as your favorite team.