Latest News

Published On: May 24th, 2018

St. Cloud, MN — The St. Cloud Rox, 2017 Northwoods League Champions, announced Thursday the organization has finalized the roster for the 2018 season.

The roster includes seven returning players from 2017 season, when the Rox finished with a record of 42-30 and claimed their first Northwoods League title in franchise history.

Returning players include infielder Louis Baker (Scottsdale Community College), right-handed pitcher Kyle Boser (St. Cloud State University), right-handed pitcher and 2017 Northwoods League All-Star Jack Cushing (Georgetown University), right-handed pitcher Bobby Gauvreau (Minnesota State University, Mankato), right-handed pitcher Carlo Graffeo (Minnesota State University, Mankato), left-handed pitcher Kenny Saenz (Bringham Young University) and catcher Ricardo Sanchez (University of Arkansas at Pine Bluff).

The entire roster includes players from 15 different states, as well as players from Puerto Rico, Canada and Australia. Four players are from Minnesota, which include Boser from Little Falls, Gus Steiger from Minnetonka, Ross Bastyr from Lakeville and Zach Lauzon from North St. Paul.

The entire 2018 roster is listed below:

Player Name Pos
Connor Aube OF So University of Texas at Arlington
Louis Baker C/1B/3B/OF So Scottsdale Community College
Jack Barrie INF/OF Jr University of Northwestern Ohio
Ross Bastyr RHP Fr Concordia University, St. Paul
Chad Bible OF RS-Jr San Diego State University
Michael Borst OF/1B/3B Jr Minot State University
Kyle Boser RHP Jr St. Cloud State University
Ben Carew OF Fr Kent State University
Landon Clifton RHP Fr Louisiana State University Eunice
Jack Cushing RHP Jr Georgetown University
Ryan Davis 2B/SS/OF So Georgetown University
Finn Del Bonta- Smith RHP Jr San Jose State University
Sergio Esparza RHP RS-Jr University of Arkansas at Pine Bluff
Bobby Gauvreau RHP Jr Minnesota State University, Mankato
Marshall Gilbert C Jr Mississippi State University
Carlo Graffeo RHP Jr Minnesota State University, Mankato
Noah Hill C/2B/3B/OF Jr Bringham Young University
Sean Hupp RHP So University of South Carolina Upstate
Evan Johnson RHP Jr Creighton University
Ryland Kerr 2B/SS/3B RS-Jr Eastern Kentucky University
Zach Lauzon RHP Jr Concordia University, St. Paul
John Matthews RHP/SS So Kent State University
Andrew Mitchel LHP Jr San Jose State University
Spencer Mraz RHP So Miami-Ohio University
Kyle Richardson LHP So Texas A&M University
Collin Romel LHP Fr Kent State University
Sean Ross RHP/Utility Fr San Diego State University
Kenny Saenz LHP Jr Bringham Young University
Abdallah Salman LHP Jr Alcorn State University
Ricardo Sanchez C/2B/LF Jr University of Arkansas at Pine Bluff
Zach Sehgal SS/2B/3B Fr Stanford University
Bobby Seymour 1B/OF Fr Wake Forest University
Hance Smith C/2B/SS/OF/RHP Fr University of California, Berkeley
Bryce Steckler OF Jr Southeastern Louisiana University
Gus Steiger 2B/SS/3B/OF Fr South Dakota State University
Landon Stephens 3B/Utility So Miami-Ohio University
Jake Suddreth RHP So Bringham Young University
Austin Suhr RHP Jr South Dakota State University
Will Warren RHP Fr Southeastern Louisiana University
Ryan Weisenberg 3B/Utility Jr Georgetown University


The Rox will play their 7th season of Northwoods League Baseball in 2018. The home opener at Joe Faber Field is scheduled for Friday, June 1 at 7:05 p.m. against the Mankato MoonDogs. The home opener, presented by Coborn’s, will feature post-game fireworks and the first 2,000 fans to the game will receive a 2018 magnet schedule.

Season tickets and single game tickets for the 2018 season are currently on sale for the summer. For more information regarding this release or to purchase tickets, please contact the Rox front office at (320) 240-9798 or visit

The St. Cloud Rox are a member of the finest developmental league for elite college baseball players, the Northwoods League. Entering its 25th anniversary season, the Northwoods League is the largest organized baseball league in the world with 20 teams, drawing significantly more fans, in a friendly ballpark experience, than any league of its kind. A valuable training ground for coaches, umpires and front office staff, more than 190 former Northwoods League players have advanced to Major League Baseball, including three-time Cy Young Award winner Max Scherzer (WAS), two-time World Series Champions Ben Zobrist (CHC) and Brandon Crawford (SFG) and MLB All-Stars Chris Sale (BOS), Jordan Zimmermann (DET) and Curtis Granderson (TOR). All league games are viewable live via the Northwoods League portal. For more information, visit or download the new Northwoods League Mobile App on the Apple App Store or on Google Play and set the Rox as your favorite team.