Latest News

Published On: August 12th, 2018


St. Cloud, MN – The Northwoods League announced Sunday morning that three members of the St. Cloud Rox were selected for Northwoods League Postseason honors.

Pitchers Finn Del Bonta-Smith (San Jose State) and Evan Johnson (Creighton), both of which are the 2018 Rox Co-MVP’s, were named Postseason All-Stars, while Rox play-by-play announcer Evan Hughes was named the Play-by-Play Announcer of the Year.

Del Bonta-Smith, who was also named a Northwoods League All-Star and took part in the Major League Dreams Showcase this season, has been dominant out of the bullpen for St. Cloud this season. In 21 appearances, he has recorded an ERA of 0.68 along with three wins and a team-high eight saves in 26.1 innings of work. He has given up just two earned runs and six walks while recording 45 strikeouts.

Johnson, who also played in the Major League Dreams Showcase this season, appeared in 14 games and tallied 60 innings of work on the mound. With an ERA of 1.80, he has a perfect 5-0 record this summer. He has given up just 12 earned runs and has recorded 57 strikeouts.

Hughes is wrapping up his first season in St. Cloud as the play-by-play announcer. A multimedia journalism major, Hughes will enter his sophomore year at Virginia Tech in the fall. The Play-by-Play Announcer of the Year award was voted on by Hughes’ peers throughout the Northwoods League.

To view the full list of postseason awards, click here.

The St. Cloud Rox are a member of the finest developmental league for elite college baseball players, the Northwoods League. Now in its 25th anniversary season, the Northwoods League is the largest organized baseball league in the world with 20 teams, drawing significantly more fans, in a friendly ballpark experience, than any league of its kind. A valuable training ground for coaches, umpires and front office staff, over 200 former Northwoods League players have advanced to Major League Baseball, including three-time Cy Young Award winner Max Scherzer (WAS), two-time World Series Champions Ben Zobrist (CHC) and Brandon Crawford (SFG) and MLB All-Stars Chris Sale (BOS), Jordan Zimmermann (DET) and Curtis Granderson (TOR).  All league games are viewable live via the Northwoods League portal. For more information, visit or download the new Northwoods League Mobile App on the Apple App Store or on Google Play and set the Rox as your favorite team.