About the NWL

The Northwoods League is the proven leader in the development of elite college baseball players. The 2022 season will mark the 29th season of the Northwoods League.  It is the largest organized baseball league in the world with 22 teams, drawing significantly more fans, in a friendly ballpark experience, than any league of its kind.

A valuable training ground for coaches, umpires, and front office staff, more than 200 Northwoods League players have advanced to Major League Baseball, including three-time Cy Young Award winner Max Scherzer (NYM) and World Series Champions Ben Zobrist (Retired), Brandon Crawford (SFG), and Chris Sale (BOS). As well as current MLB All-Star Pete Alonso (NYM), and former MLB All-Stars Jordan Zimmermann (Retired), and Curtis Granderson (Retired).

The Northwoods League Impact

“For me, it was a time where I really got to break out and shine.”
– 3-Time Cy Young Winner Max Scherzer.

“I credit a lot of my success to one of my pitching coaches I had in the Northwoods League. Without him doing a lot of those things for me I definitely wouldn’t be here [in MLB] today.”
– Dan Jennings, P, Tampa Bay Rays.

“It was one of the funnest experiences of my life.”
– Chris Sale, P, Boston Red Sox