Latest News

Published On: September 28th, 2015

St. Cloud, MNThe Northwoods League has announced the recipients of the 2015 Rawlings ‘Finest in the Field’ Award on Monday. The annual award recognizes the top fielders at each position. The winners are selected based on final fielding statistics compiled by league statistician Pointstreak. St. Cloud Rox catcher Liam Bedford won the award with a fielding percentage of .995.  Bedford saw action in 56 games and committed only two errors in 394 chances. The 2015 Rawlings ‘Finest in the Field’ Award recipients and their fielding percentages are below.



NWL Team


Fielding Percentage


Liam Bedford

St. Cloud Rox

Doane College



Ryan Cleveland

Wisconsin Rapids Rafters

Georgia Southern



Ty Blankmeyer

Green Bay Bullfrogs

St. John’s University



William Paschal

Rochester Honkers

Georgia Gwinnett



Matt Batten

Thunder Bay Border Cats

Quinnipiac University



Jake Romano

Lakeshore Chinooks

Miami of Ohio



Cameron Frost

Madison Mallards

Washington State



Cole Krzmarzick

Rochester Honkers




Toby Anderson

Duluth Huskies



Rawlings has been rewarding the top defenders in the Northwoods League since 2002. The recipients receive a special Rawlings engraved trophy. Rawlings is the official equipment provider for the Northwoods League. To qualify for an award a player needs to appear in at least two-thirds of the scheduled games at a specific position, with the exception of catcher which is half. For pitchers, the player that had the highest total defensive chances without committing an error earns the number one spot.

The Rox will open their 5th season of Northwoods League baseball in late May of 2016. Season tickets for the 2016 season are currently on sale. For more information regarding this release please contact the Rox front office at (320) 240-9798 or visit

The St. Cloud Rox are a member of the finest developmental league for elite college baseball players, the Northwoods League. Playing its 22nd season of summer collegiate baseball in 2015, the Northwoods League is the largest summer collegiate baseball league in the world with 18 teams, drawing significantly more fans, in a friendly ballpark experience, than any league of its kind. A valuable training ground for coaches, umpires and front office staff, more than 130 Northwoods League players have advanced to Major League Baseball, including Cy Young Award winner Max Scherzer (WAS) and MLB All-Stars Chris Sale (CWS), Jordan Zimmermann (WAS), Curtis Granderson (NYM), Lucas Duda (NYM) and Ben Zobrist (KC). All league games are viewable live via the Northwoods League Website.  For more information, visit