Rox Alumni Minor League Season Recap

St. Cloud, MNSeptember marked the end of the regular season for Minor League Baseball. This season saw a record 26 former Rox players in the minor league systems of major league affiliates. The alumni members were made up of 10 former Rox pitchers and 16 former Rox position players.

Infielder Nick Tanielu (2012) had an all-star season for the second straight year when he represented the Quad Cities River Bandits (Houston Astros) in the Midwest League All-Star Game.  In 110 games for the River Bandits, he finished the season with a .308 batting average, six home runs and 70 runs batted in. Joining Tanielu in the Midwest League All-Star Game was Carlos Leal (2013). Leal played 76 games for the Wisconsin Timber Rattlers and finished with a team high batting average of .309.                       

Carlos Lopez (2012) played 123 games for the Miami Marlins Class AA affiliate, Jacksonville. As the everyday right fielder, Lopez hit .259 and finished with 22 doubles.  Joining Lopez in the Marlins organization was Kyle Fischer (2013), who spent most of the season with Class A Greensboro before finishing the season in Class AA Jacksonville. Fischer finished the season with 74.2 innings pitched, 13 saves and a 2.65 earned run average.

Two former Rox players were traded from one organization to another during the season. Pitcher Josh Taylor (2014) started the season in the Philadelphia Phillies organization before being traded to the Arizona Diamondbacks in July. He spent all season at the Class A level making 24 starts on the mound, throwing 127.1 innings totaling 123 strike outs and a 3.96 earned run average. Another former Rox pitcher Jason Hoppe (2013) was also traded from the Texas Rangers organization to the Los Angeles Angels organization in July. Hoppe spent most of the season at the Class A level throwing 25 innings.

The Major League Baseball draft in June saw 12 former Rox players drafted and signed.  Kade Scivicque (2014) became the highest overall Rox player drafted when he was selected in the 4th round by the Detroit Tigers. He played most of the season with the Class A West Michigan Whitecaps where he finished the season with a .269 batting average and a .990 fielding percentage on the way to helping them win the Midwest League Championship. Facing Scivicque in the Midwest League Championship was Chris Paul (2012-2014) who was drafted by the Minnesota Twins in the 6th round.  He spent most of the summer with the Class A Cedar Rapids Kernals and finished with a .282 batting average. The other Rox alumni that made their professional debuts in 2015 were Jay Flaa (2013) drafted in the 6th round by the Baltimore Orioles, Tyler Peitzmeier (2014) in the 9th round by the Chicago Cubs, Daniel Comstock (2013) in the 18th round by the Arizona Diamondbacks, Blake Headley (2013) in the 20th round by the Chicago Cubs, Luke Doyle (2015) in the 20th round by the St. Louis Cardinals, Josh Altmann (2015) in the 22nd round by the Texas Rangers, Bradley Strong (2013-2014) in  the 28th round by the Chicago White Sox, Ben Meyer (2012) in the 29th round by the Miami Marlins, Ty Jackson (2012) in the 32nd round by the Tampa Bay Rays, and Charles Galiano (2014) in the 40th round by the Milwaukee Brewers.

Additional Rox alumni that played in the minor leagues this season were Zach Hirsch (2012) in the Miami Marlins organization, Conor Keniry (2013) in the Washington Nationals organization, Lucas Long (2012-2013) in the Baltimore Orioles organization, Adam Martin (2012-2013) in the Seattle Mariners organization, Alex McRae (2013) in the Pittsburgh Pirates organization, Nate Robertson (2014) in the Arizona Diamondbacks organization, Elvin Soto (2012)  in the Arizona Diamondbacks organization, and Clay Williamson (2013) in the Washington Nationals organization.

The St. Cloud Rox are a member of the finest developmental league for elite college baseball players, the Northwoods League. Playing its 22nd season of summer collegiate baseball in 2015, the Northwoods League is the largest summer collegiate baseball league in the world with 18 teams, drawing significantly more fans, in a friendly ballpark experience, than any league of its kind. A valuable training ground for coaches, umpires and front office staff, more than 130 Northwoods League players have advanced to Major League Baseball, including Cy Young Award winner Max Scherzer (WAS) and MLB All-Stars Chris Sale (CWS), Jordan Zimmermann (WAS), Curtis Granderson (NYM), Lucas Duda (NYM) and Ben Zobrist (KC). All league games are viewable live via the Northwoods League Website.  For more information, visit