St. Cloud Fights Hard, Drops Game One of Doubleheader

St. Cloud, MN – Freddy Achecar (Georgetown) had a multi-hit day at the plate while also pitching nearly three innings on the mound, but St. Cloud (7-8) dropped game one of the doubleheader to Mankato by a score of 12-3. The second game will take place at 7:05 p.m. on Tuesday.

Trailing in the bottom of the first inning, the Rox tacked on their first run of the game. With Ben Carew (Kent State) on second base, Garret Nielsen (California-Berkeley) drilled an RBI-single to right field.

The Rox rallied in the bottom of the eighth inning, scoring two runs. Brendan Tinsman (Wake Forest) blasted a double down the right field line and it scored Nielsen on a throwing error. In the next at-bat, Achecar hit a double to right field that scored Tinsman.

Richie Holetz (Nebraska-Omaha) received the start for St. Cloud, his first of the season. He was followed by Lucas Gather (California-Berkeley), Max Rippl (Kent State), Achecar and Hance Smith (California-Berkeley) out of the bullpen.

The second game of the doubleheader on Tuesday is scheduled for 7:05 p.m. It’s Rox Pint Glass Giveaway presented by Miller Lite to the first 500 fans 21 and older.

All single games tickets – including to the home opener – can be purchased now in person at the Rox Ticket Office located at the Municipal Athletic Complex, by calling the Rox Ticket office at 320-240-9798 between 9 a.m. and 5 p.m. Monday through Friday or 24 hours a day by visiting


The St. Cloud Rox are a member of the finest developmental league for elite college baseball players, the Northwoods League. The 25-year old summer collegiate league is the largest organized baseball league in the world with 22 teams, drawing significantly more fans, in a friendly ballpark experience, than any league of its kind. A valuable training ground for coaches, umpires and front office staff, over 200 former Northwoods League players have advanced to Major League Baseball, including three-time Cy Young Award winner Max Scherzer (WAS), two-time World Series Champions Ben Zobrist (CHC) and Brandon Crawford (SFG) and MLB All-Stars Chris Sale (BOS), Jordan Zimmermann (DET) and Curtis Granderson (MIA).  All league games are viewable live via the Northwoods League portal. For more information, visit or download the new Northwoods League Mobile App on the Apple App Store or on Google Play and set the Rox as your favorite team.