Rox Drop Close Game to Honkers in Series Opener

St. Cloud, MN – Garett Delano (Mercer) drove in two runs, but St. Cloud (6-7) dropped the series opener to Rochester (4-7) by a score of 8-6.

Trailing 2-0 in the third inning, the Rox took full advantage of consecutive errors from the Honkers and scored four runs. Collin Montez (Washington State) drove in a run on a base hit to right field. The Rox led 4-2.

With two outs in the fourth inning, Delano crushed a two-run double to the gap in left field that scored Jordan Barth (Augustana) and Jack Kelly (Minnesota). It extended St. Cloud’s lead to 6-3.

Trevor Koenig (St. Cloud State) was excellent in his third start of the season, striking out six batters over four innings. Noah Myhre (Minot State) hurled the next three innings and struck out four batters. Nate Peterson (Oklahoma State) struck out a batter in the eighth inning. Kevin Davis (USC-Upstate) punched out four batters in the final 1.2 innings. 

The pitching staff combined to strike out 15 batters.

For the full box score from Saturday’s game, click here.

The Rox will look to split the two-game series on Sunday at Joe Faber Field. First pitch is scheduled for 4:05 pm.

If you would like more information on tickets for the 2020 season, or more information regarding this press release,  please contact the Rox front office at 320-240-9798 or visit

The St. Cloud Rox are a member of the finest developmental league for elite college baseball players, the Northwoods League. The Northwoods League is the proven leader in the development of elite college baseball players. Having completed its 26th season, the Northwoods League is the largest organized baseball league in the world with 22 teams, drawing significantly more fans, in a friendly ballpark experience, than any league of its kind. A valuable training ground for coaches, umpires and front office staff, over 230 Northwoods League players have advanced to Major League Baseball, including three-time All-Star and 2016 Roberto Clemente Award winner Curtis Granderson, three-time Cy Young Award winner and World Series Champion Max Scherzer (WAS), two-time World Series Champions Ben Zobrist (CHC) and Brandon Crawford (SFG) and World Series Champion Chris Sale (BOS). As well as 2019 Rookie of the Year and Home Run Derby Champion Pete Alonso (NYM) and MLB All-Star Jordan Zimmermann (DET). All league games are viewable live via the Northwoods League website. All league games are viewable live via the Northwoods League portal. For more information, visit or download the new Northwoods League Mobile.