Rox Split Series in Waterloo, Return Home Wednesday

Waterloo, IA – Nate Peterson (Oklahoma State) hurled four strong innings in relief, but St. Cloud (8-8) dropped the series finale to Waterloo (10-7) in a seven inning game due to weather.

The Rox took an early 1-0 lead in the first inning. Ben Norman (Iowa) drew a one-out walk and was moved to third base following a double from Jordan Barth (Augustana). Garett Delano (Mercer) drove in Barth in the next at-bat and recorded his 10th RBI of the season.

Down 6-1 in the sixth inning, Logan Thomason (Eastern Kentucky) drew a one-out walk. Tyler Finke (Southeastern Louisiana) then doubled to left field. Nick Marinconz (Cal Poly) followed with a single and scored Thomason to cut the deficit to four runs.

Brandon White (Washington State) made his second start of the season and pitched 2.1 innings, striking out two batters. Peterson followed him out of the bullpen and didn’t give up any runs over four innings thrown.

The game was called due to rain following the top of the seventh inning.

For the full box score from Tuesday’s game, click here.

St. Cloud now enters a two-game, home-and-home series with the Willmar Stingers (12-5). The Rox will be home on Wednesday and at Bill Taunton Stadium on Thursday. Both games start at 7:05 pm. 

If you would like more information on tickets for the 2020 season, or more information regarding this press release,  please contact the Rox front office at 320-240-9798 or visit

The St. Cloud Rox are a member of the finest developmental league for elite college baseball players, the Northwoods League. The Northwoods League is the proven leader in the development of elite college baseball players. Having completed its 26th season, the Northwoods League is the largest organized baseball league in the world with 22 teams, drawing significantly more fans, in a friendly ballpark experience, than any league of its kind. A valuable training ground for coaches, umpires and front office staff, over 230 Northwoods League players have advanced to Major League Baseball, including three-time All-Star and 2016 Roberto Clemente Award winner Curtis Granderson, three-time Cy Young Award winner and World Series Champion Max Scherzer (WAS), two-time World Series Champions Ben Zobrist (CHC) and Brandon Crawford (SFG) and World Series Champion Chris Sale (BOS). As well as 2019 Rookie of the Year and Home Run Derby Champion Pete Alonso (NYM) and MLB All-Star Jordan Zimmermann (DET). All league games are viewable live via the Northwoods League website. All league games are viewable live via the Northwoods League portal. For more information, visit or download the new Northwoods League Mobile.