Rox Sweep Honkers as Pitching Staff Continues to Shine

St. Cloud, MN – St. Cloud (12-10) used a four-run fifth inning to help sweep Rochester (4-17) by a score of 4-2 at Joe Faber Field.

Trailing 1-0 in the fifth inning, the Rox offense clicked and scored four runs. Luke Roskam (Nebraska), Logan Thomason (Eastern Kentucky) and Nate Swarts (Washington State) all had hits to load the bases. Nick Marinconz (Cal Poly) ripped a first-pitch fastball to left field and scored two runs.

Jack Kelly (Minnesota) scored Swarts on a sac-fly. Collin Montez (Washington State) later smacked a double and scored Marinconz.

Luke Albright (Kent State) hurled five innings in the start and earned his first win of the season. He took a no-hit bid into the fifth inning and finished the game with six strikeouts. 

Tyson Heaton (BYU) threw 1.2 innings out of the bullpen and struck out two batters. Josh Gainer (LIU-Brooklyn) and Jesse Barron (San Francisco) also saw time on the mound. Blake Stelzer (Concordia-St. Paul) earned his fourth save of the season.

For the full box score from Thursday’s game, click here.

St. Cloud begins a two-game home series with the Willmar Stingers on Friday. First pitch is scheduled for 7:05 pm at Joe Faber Field. There will be a post-game fireworks show.

If you would like more information on tickets for the 2020 season, or more information regarding this press release,  please contact the Rox front office at 320-240-9798 or visit

The St. Cloud Rox are a member of the finest developmental league for elite college baseball players, the Northwoods League. The Northwoods League is the proven leader in the development of elite college baseball players. Having completed its 26th season, the Northwoods League is the largest organized baseball league in the world with 22 teams, drawing significantly more fans, in a friendly ballpark experience, than any league of its kind. A valuable training ground for coaches, umpires and front office staff, over 230 Northwoods League players have advanced to Major League Baseball, including three-time All-Star and 2016 Roberto Clemente Award winner Curtis Granderson, three-time Cy Young Award winner and World Series Champion Max Scherzer (WAS), two-time World Series Champions Ben Zobrist (CHC) and Brandon Crawford (SFG) and World Series Champion Chris Sale (BOS). As well as 2019 Rookie of the Year and Home Run Derby Champion Pete Alonso (NYM) and MLB All-Star Jordan Zimmermann (DET). All league games are viewable live via the Northwoods League website. All league games are viewable live via the Northwoods League portal. For more information, visit or download the new Northwoods League Mobile.