Rox Beat Stingers Behind Stellar Pitching

St. Cloud, MN – Zane Mills (Washington State) hurled seven innings and gave up just one run as St. Cloud (18-11) beat Willmar (18-13) by a score of 5-1 on Saturday.

The Rox scored a pair of runs in the first inning to claim an early lead. Ben Norman (Iowa) led off with a walk and Jordan Barth (Augustana) was hit-by-a-pitch. Collin Montez (Washington State) singled to center field to load the bases. Norman and Barth scored in the next at-bat, taking advantage of a Willmar error in the infield.

Jack Kelly (Minnesota) extended the lead to 3-1 in the second inning. The Golden-Gopher singled to right field and scored Andrew Pintar (BYU) from third base.

That score remained until the seventh inning. Jack Kelly and Montez drew walks to set up Garett Delano (Mercer). He delivered with a two-run double to left field and put St. Cloud ahead 5-1.

Mills went the longest of any Rox starting pitcher this season, hurling seven innings. He tossed seven innings and struck out six batters while not issuing any walks. Nate Peterson (Oklahoma State) threw the final two innings and struck out four batters.

For the full box score from Saturday’s game, click here.

The Rox will conclude the series against the Stingers with a doubleheader on Sunday. Game one is scheduled for 12:05 pm and game two is slated for a 6:05 pm first pitch. Both games will be played at Bill Taunton Stadium.

St. Cloud returns home on Wednesday, August 12th against Willmar. The game is scheduled for a 7:05 pm start time at Joe Faber Field.

If you would like more information on tickets for the 2020 season, or more information regarding this press release,  please contact the Rox front office at 320-240-9798 or visit

The St. Cloud Rox are a member of the finest developmental league for elite college baseball players, the Northwoods League. The Northwoods League is the proven leader in the development of elite college baseball players. Having completed its 26th season, the Northwoods League is the largest organized baseball league in the world with 22 teams, drawing significantly more fans, in a friendly ballpark experience, than any league of its kind. A valuable training ground for coaches, umpires and front office staff, over 230 Northwoods League players have advanced to Major League Baseball, including three-time All-Star and 2016 Roberto Clemente Award winner Curtis Granderson, three-time Cy Young Award winner and World Series Champion Max Scherzer (WAS), two-time World Series Champions Ben Zobrist (CHC) and Brandon Crawford (SFG) and World Series Champion Chris Sale (BOS). As well as 2019 Rookie of the Year and Home Run Derby Champion Pete Alonso (NYM) and MLB All-Star Jordan Zimmermann (DET). All league games are viewable live via the Northwoods League website. All league games are viewable live via the Northwoods League portal. For more information, visit or download the new Northwoods League Mobile.