Rox Hammer MoonDogs in Series Opener

St. Cloud, MN – Zane Mills (Washington State) struck out 10 batters over eight innings pitched as St. Cloud (24-12) beat Mankato (17-21) by a final score of 9-1.

The game remained scoreless until the sixth inning. Jack Kelly (Minnesota) was able to score from second base on an error, puting the Rox ahead 1-0.

In the seventh inning, St. Cloud stepped up with two-outs. Ben Norman (Iowa) and Jack Winkler (San Francisco) had consecutive RBI-singles to extend the lead to 3-1.

The Rox then batted through their lineup in the eight inning. Kodie Kolden (Washington State) drilled a two-run single to left field. He went 3-3 at the plate on the day. Winkler and Jack Kelly later had RBIs. Then with two-outs, Jordan Barth (Augustana) drilled a two-run single off of his college teammate, Thomas Bruss, to put St. Cloud ahead 9-0. Barth recorded three hits in the win.

Mills tossed eight scoreless innings in the start, giving up just two hits and issuing no walks. He struck out 10 batters. Josh Gainer (LIU-Brooklyn) pitched the ninth inning to close the game.

For the full box score from Monday’s game, click here.

The Rox have now won 12 straight games at Joe Faber Field and improve its home record to 16-2 on the season.

St. Cloud will look to sweep Mankato on Monday at the Rock Pile. First pitch is scheduled for 7:05 pm.

If you would like more information on tickets for the 2020 season, or more information regarding this press release,  please contact the Rox front office at 320-240-9798 or visit

The St. Cloud Rox are a member of the finest developmental league for elite college baseball players, the Northwoods League. The Northwoods League is the proven leader in the development of elite college baseball players. Having completed its 26th season, the Northwoods League is the largest organized baseball league in the world with 22 teams, drawing significantly more fans, in a friendly ballpark experience, than any league of its kind. A valuable training ground for coaches, umpires and front office staff, over 230 Northwoods League players have advanced to Major League Baseball, including three-time All-Star and 2016 Roberto Clemente Award winner Curtis Granderson, three-time Cy Young Award winner and World Series Champion Max Scherzer (WAS), two-time World Series Champions Ben Zobrist (CHC) and Brandon Crawford (SFG) and World Series Champion Chris Sale (BOS). As well as 2019 Rookie of the Year and Home Run Derby Champion Pete Alonso (NYM) and MLB All-Star Jordan Zimmermann (DET). All league games are viewable live via the Northwoods League website. All league games are viewable live via the Northwoods League portal. For more information, visit or download the new Northwoods League Mobile.