Latest News

Published On: August 19th, 2020

Rochester, MN – St. Cloud (27-12) scored six runs in the eighth inning and cruised to a 11-4 win over Rochester in the series finale, sweeping the Honkers. With the win, the Rox will play their final game of the season at the Rock Pile Thursday for a chance to win the Minnesota/Iowa pod title.

Ben Norman (Iowa) put the Rox ahead 2-0 in the third inning. After Kodie Kolden (Washington State) led off with a single, Norman later smacked a two-run double off the wall in right center field. 

The Rox would add a run in the fourth and fifth innings to extend its lead to 4-0.

Leading 4-2 in the eighth inning, St. Cloud hit through their lineup and scored six runs. Jordan Barth (Augustana) highlighted the inning with a two-run home run to left field.

The Rox would finish with 16 hits as a team in the win.

Trent Schoeberl (Minnesota) was terrific in the start, tossing 6.1 innings and striking out seven batters. He gave up just one hit. Noah Myhre (Minot State) pitched 1.2 innings out of the bullpen. Will Jackson (St. Thomas) and Joey Stock (Wisconsin-Milwaukee) combined to close out the ninth inning.

St. Cloud has now won 18 of its last 21 games.

With the win, the Rox continue to stay in first place of the Minnesota/Iowa pod. The Rox have a .692 winning percentage while the Waterloo Bucks have a .675 winning percentage. The magic number to clinch is one. St. Cloud has one game remaining in the season and the champion will be based on winning percentage. The Rox play at home against Willmar on Thursday at 7:05 pm. There will be a post-game fireworks show, presented by Texas Roadhouse. 

If you would like more information on tickets for the 2020 season, or more information regarding this press release,  please contact the Rox front office at 320-240-9798 or visit

The St. Cloud Rox are a member of the finest developmental league for elite college baseball players, the Northwoods League. The Northwoods League is the proven leader in the development of elite college baseball players. Having completed its 26th season, the Northwoods League is the largest organized baseball league in the world with 22 teams, drawing significantly more fans, in a friendly ballpark experience, than any league of its kind. A valuable training ground for coaches, umpires and front office staff, over 230 Northwoods League players have advanced to Major League Baseball, including three-time All-Star and 2016 Roberto Clemente Award winner Curtis Granderson, three-time Cy Young Award winner and World Series Champion Max Scherzer (WAS), two-time World Series Champions Ben Zobrist (CHC) and Brandon Crawford (SFG) and World Series Champion Chris Sale (BOS). As well as 2019 Rookie of the Year and Home Run Derby Champion Pete Alonso (NYM) and MLB All-Star Jordan Zimmermann (DET). All league games are viewable live via the Northwoods League website. All league games are viewable live via the Northwoods League portal. For more information, visit or download the new Northwoods League Mobile.