Rox Drop Close Game to Stingers, Return Home on Monday

Willmar, MN – Nate Rombach (Texas Tech) registered three hits at the plate, but St. Cloud (4-5) fell to Willmar (6-2) 5-2 on Saturday.

In the sixth inning, Tyler Finke (Southeastern Louisiana) led off the inning with a single to center field. After stealing second base, Jordan Barth (Augustana) scored Finke on a fielder’s choice. That cut the Willmar lead to 4-1.

Kodie Kolden (Washington State) drilled a leadoff single to right field in the eighth inning. He finished 2-3 at the plate. After an Andrew Pintar (BYU) single, Jack Kelly (Minnesota) scored Kolden on a ground ball to the right side of the infield to give the Rox their second run of the game.

Trevor Koenig (St. Cloud State) got the start for St. Cloud and pitched four innings, striking out three batters. Nate Peterson (Oklahoma State) threw the fifth inning. Noah Myhre (Minot State) surrendered just one hit and struck out two batters in two innings pitched. Trent Schoeberl (Minnesota) hurled the ninth inning for the Rox.

For the full box score from Saturday’s game, click here.

St. Cloud will be off on Sunday. The Rox will return home to the Rock Pile on Monday, July 13th at 7:05 pm against the Mankato MoonDogs.

If you would like more information on tickets for the 2020 season, or more information regarding this press release,  please contact the Rox front office at 320-240-9798 or visit

The St. Cloud Rox are a member of the finest developmental league for elite college baseball players, the Northwoods League. The Northwoods League is the proven leader in the development of elite college baseball players. Having completed its 26th season, the Northwoods League is the largest organized baseball league in the world with 22 teams, drawing significantly more fans, in a friendly ballpark experience, than any league of its kind. A valuable training ground for coaches, umpires and front office staff, over 230 Northwoods League players have advanced to Major League Baseball, including three-time All-Star and 2016 Roberto Clemente Award winner Curtis Granderson, three-time Cy Young Award winner and World Series Champion Max Scherzer (WAS), two-time World Series Champions Ben Zobrist (CHC) and Brandon Crawford (SFG) and World Series Champion Chris Sale (BOS). As well as 2019 Rookie of the Year and Home Run Derby Champion Pete Alonso (NYM) and MLB All-Star Jordan Zimmermann (DET). All league games are viewable live via the Northwoods League website. All league games are viewable live via the Northwoods League portal. For more information, visit or download the new Northwoods League Mobile.


Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on pinterest
Share on email

Sign up for our Newsletter