Shutout Sends Rox to Victory Over Larks

St. Cloud, MN – St. Cloud (25-8) picked up the second half right where it left off in the first with a 6-0 win over Bismarck (18-18) on Tuesday night.

The Rox’ league-best pitching staff led the way once again with St. Cloud’s fourth shutout victory of the season. Trent Schoeberl (Minnesota) started it off with his best outing of the season. Schoeberl carried a no-hitter into the sixth inning and allowed no runs in six innings of work.

Out of the bullpen, a trio of relievers each threw a shutout inning, allowing just one heat each. Kevin Davis (USC Upstate) finished it off out of the pen by striking out the final three batters of the game.

St. Cloud’s bats got going in the fourth inning as Jack Winkler (San Francisco) launched his first home run of the season out to left field. Winkler has now brought in eight runs in his last four games and gave the Rox a 2-0 lead on Tuesday.

The big inning for the Rox came in the sixth as they threw up three more tallies on the board. Connor O’Brien (Seattle University) started the scoring with a double into left-center field. Cody Kelly (Minnesota) also brought a run in with a single out to left.

For a full box score from Tuesday’s game, click here.

The Rox will look for their fifth straight win in the series finale against Bismarck on Wednesday night. First pitch from Joe Faber Field is scheduled for 7:05 pm.

The St. Cloud Rox are a member of the finest developmental league for elite college baseball players, the Northwoods League. The Northwoods League is the proven leader in the development of elite college baseball players. Having completed its’ 27th season, the Northwoods League is the largest organized baseball league in the world with 22 teams, drawing significantly more fans, in a friendly ballpark experience, than any league of its kind. A valuable training ground for coaches, umpires and front office staff, over 250 Northwoods League players have advanced to Major League Baseball, including three-time All-Star and 2016 Roberto Clemente Award winner Curtis Granderson, three-time Cy Young Award winner and World Series Champion Max Scherzer (WAS), two-time World Series Champions Ben Zobrist and Brandon Crawford (SFG) and World Series Champion Chris Sale (BOS). As well as 2019 Rookie of the Year and Home Run Derby Champion Pete Alonso (NYM) and MLB Gold Glove finalist and 2019 Second Team All-MLB shortstop Marcus Semien (TOR). All league games are viewable live via the Northwoods League website. All league games are viewable live via the Northwoods League portal. For more information, visit or download the new Northwoods League Mobile App on the Apple App Store or on Google Play and set the Rox as your favorite team.





Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on pinterest
Share on email

Sign up for our Newsletter