Rox Finish 2022 Season As Only Team In Northwoods League History with Consecutive 50-Win Seasons

St. Cloud, MN – St. Cloud (50-20) lost on Monday to Willmar (50-20) to end the 2022 season, the Rox 10th consecutive winning season and second straight 50-win campaign.

The Rox got a great pitching performance out of Hunter Day (Tarleton State), who went five-and-a-third innings on the bump and struck out eight batters. Day only allowed two runs and put the Rox in a position to stay in the game.

Chase Grillo (Washington State) came through late in the game, recording a season-high seven outs on the day. Grillo retired the side in order in the ninth to give St. Cloud a chance in the home half to win it.

The offense got it rolling in the fifth inning when Jackson Hauge (Minnesota State) doubled for his first hit with the Rox to lead off the frame. Hauge would give the Rox a 1-0 lead by scoring on a wild pitch.

St. Cloud cut a two-run Willmar lead in half with a sacrifice fly off the bat of O’Neill Burgos (Southern). Burgos drove in Rox’ single-season record holder for runs scored, John Nett to get St. Cloud within one.

For a full box score from Monday’s game, click here.

The Rox finish the season as the only team in Northwoods League history with back-to-back 50 win seasons and finished the campaign as the best team in the Great Plains division. St. Cloud will return to the Rock Pile for the 2023 summer.

The St. Cloud Rox are a member of the finest developmental league for elite college baseball players, the Northwoods League. The Northwoods League is the proven leader in the development of elite college baseball players. Now in its’ 29th season, the Northwoods League is the largest organized baseball league in the world with 22 teams, drawing significantly more fans, in a friendly ballpark experience, than any league of its kind. A valuable training ground for coaches, umpires, and front office staff, 300 Northwoods League players have advanced to Major League Baseball, including three-time All-Star and 2016 Roberto Clemente Award winner Curtis Granderson, three-time Cy Young Award winner and World Series Champion Max Scherzer (NYM), two-time World Series Champions Ben Zobrist and Brandon Crawford (SFG) and World Series Champion Chris Sale (BOS). As well as 2019 Rookie of the Year and 2019/2021 Home Run Derby Champion Pete Alonso (NYM) and 2021 All-Star, MLB Gold Glove winner and 2019 Second Team All-MLB shortstop Marcus Semien (TEX). All league games are viewable live via the Northwoods League website. League games are viewable live at and on ESPN+. For more information, visit or download the new Northwoods League Mobile App on the Apple App Store or on Google Play and set the Rox as your favorite team.



Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on pinterest
Share on email

Sign up for our Newsletter