Help us recognize A+ teachers

 BISMARCK, ND – The Larks and Lignite Energy Council are searching for stand-out teachers in the community who are making a difference one student at a time.

This season, the Larks and Lignite Energy Council will honor two outstanding teachers from Bismarck and Mandan as the Lignite Energy Council Teachers of the Year. The winning teachers will be selected based on their dedication, commitment and impact on todays youth.

The Larks and Lignite Energy Council will announce the winning teachers in April during an assembly at their school.

The Mandan Teacher of the Year will also be recognized during the Mandan Education Association Day at the ballpark on Wednesday, May 30, 2018.

The Bismarck Teacher of the Year will also be recognized during the Bismarck Education Association Day at the ballpark on Thursday, May 31, 2018.

The Lignite Energy Council Teachers of the Year will receive:

  • 4 Larks tailgate tickets ($120 value with food and drink included)
  • On-field recognition
  • Opportunity to throw out the first pitch
  • A Larks jersey
  • $100 gift card for school supplies
  • Every teacher that attends the Education Days at the ballpark will receive a custom Larks teacher tote filled with school supplies for their classroom

How do I nominate a teacher?
Tell us what makes your teacher the BEST.

Students, K-12 must submit a one page (double-spaced) 250 word essay describing a teacher who has made a positive impact on their life and deserves to be recognized as the Lignite Energy Council Teacher of the Year.

The essay must include the student’s home address and phone number at the top of the page. The Larks staff will notify the student if their nominated teacher is selected.

Students can submit their essay online using the application below or by downloading the application here.

Applications must be submitted to:
Bismarck Larks
Teacher of the Year
201 W Front Ave
Bismarck, ND 58504

Application deadline is April 6th, 2018.


The Bismarck Larks are a proud affiliate of the Northwoods League, the proven leader in development of elite college baseball players. The Larks mission is to use FUN to make a difference in the lives of our families, businesses, players, and communities we serve. This is accomplished with a commitment to putting fans first and providing high quality family entertainment at affordable prices. In 2017, the Larks sold out 27 of their 36 home games in Bismarck Municipal Ballpark, home of Dakota Community Bank and Trust Field, and were named the Northwoods League’s Organization of the Year.

The Northwoods League is the proven leader in the development of elite college baseball players. Entering its 25th anniversary season, the Northwoods League is the largest organized baseball league in the world with 20 teams, drawing significantly more fans, in a friendly ballpark experience, than any league of its kind. A valuable training ground for coaches, umpires and front office staff, more than 185 Northwoods League players have advanced to Major League Baseball, including three-time Cy Young Award winner Max Scherzer (WAS), two-time World Series Champions Ben Zobrist (CHC) and Brandon Crawford (SFG) and MLB All-Stars Chris Sale (BOS), Jordan Zimmermann (DET) and Curtis Granderson (TOR). All league games are viewable live via the Northwoods League website. For more information, visit or download the Northwoods League Mobile App on the Apple App Store or on Google Play.

Latest News